+612 9045 4394
I Am No One You Know : Stories - Joyce Carol Oates

I Am No One You Know


Paperback Published: 5th April 2005
ISBN: 9780060592899
Number Of Pages: 304

Other Formats

Share This Book:


Ships in 7 to 10 business days

"I Am No One You Know" contains nineteen startling stories that bear witness to the remarkably varied lives of Americans of our time. In "Fire," a troubled young wife discovers a rare, radiant happiness in an adulterous relationship. In "Curly Red," a girl makes a decision to reveal a family secret, and changes her life irrevocably. In "The Girl with the Blackened Eye," selected for The Best American Mystery Stories 2001, a girl pushed to an even greater extreme of courage and desperation manages to survive her abduction by a serial killer. And in "Three Girls," two adventuresome NYU undergraduates seal their secret love by following, and protecting, Marilyn Monroe in disguise at Strand Used Books on a snowy evening in 1956.

These vividly rendered portraits of women, men, and children testify to Oates's compassion for the mysterious and luminous resources of the human spirit.

Curly redp. 3
In hidingp. 21
I'm not your son, I am no one you knowp. 28
Aiding and abettingp. 37
Fugitivep. 49
Me & Wolfie, 1979p. 54
The girl and the blackened eyep. 73
Cumberland breakdownp. 87
Upholsteryp. 105
Wolf's Head Lakep. 117
Happinessp. 119
Firep. 138
The instructorp. 157
The skull : a love storyp. 191
The deaths : an elegyp. 213
Jorie (& Jamie) : a depositionp. 233
Mrs. Halifax and Rickie Swann : a balladp. 245
Three girlsp. 271
The mutantsp. 281
Acknowledgmentsp. 289
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780060592899
ISBN-10: 0060592893
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 5th April 2005
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 15.1  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.27

Joyce Carol Oates

About the Author

Joyce Carol Oates is an American author with over 70 books and the winner of a host of prizes including the National Book Award and a Guggenheim Fellowship. Oates published her first book in 1963 and has since published over 40 novels, as well as a number of plays and novellas, and many volumes of short stories, poetry, and nonfiction. Oates is Professor of the Humanities at Princeton University.

Visit Joyce Carol Oates's Booktopia Author Page

Read More