+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
I Am, I Am, I Am : Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller - Maggie O'Farrell

I Am, I Am, I Am

Seventeen Brushes With Death - The Breathtaking Number One Bestseller

Paperback

Published: 29th August 2017
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF

An extraordinarily intimate memoir of the the brushes with death that have made Maggie O'Farrell the woman and the writer she is today, for readers of The Last Act Of Love and When Breath Becomes Air.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Sunday Times bestseller and Costa Novel-Award winner Maggie O'Farrell's electric and shocking memoir of the near death experiences that have punctuated her life; it will appeal to readers of Cheryl Strayed's WILD or Joan Didion's A Year Of Magical Thinking.

A childhood illness she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. A terrifying encounter on a remote path. A mismanaged labour in an understaffed hospital.

This is a memoir with a difference: seventeen encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal to us a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. It is a book to make you question yourself: what would you do if your life was in danger? How would you react? And what would you stand to lose? I Am, I Am, I Am is a book you will finish newly conscious of your own vulnerability, and determined to make every heartbeat count.

About the Author

Maggie O'Farrell is the author of seven novels, After You'd Gone, My Lover's Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act Of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, Instructions For A Heatwave, which was shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Novel Award, and This Must Be The Place, which was shortlisted for the 2016 Costa Novel Award. She lives in Edinburgh.

WRITE A REVIEW

a moving and fascinating read

4

4.5 stars "The knowledge that I was lucky to be alive, that it could so easily have been otherwise, skewed my thinking. I viewed my continuing life as an extra, a bonus, a boon: I could do with it what I wanted. And not only had I tricked death but I had escaped a fate of incapacity. What else was I going to do with my independence, my ambulatory state, except exploit it for all it was worth? … This insouciance stopped the minute I had children, when suddenly I worried that my two-fingered taunts to Death might come back to bite me." I Am, I Am, I Am is a memoir by award-winning British author, Maggie O'Farrell. It is subtitled Seventeen Brushes With Death, and in describing these (mostly, but not exclusively, her own) experiences, O'Farrell also, of course, shares many other important moments of her life. As well as describing the situation that led to them, the physical effects they had on her and those close to her, she also notes the change in attitude they caused. "The people who teach us something retain a particularly vivid place in our memories. I'd been a parent for about ten minutes when I met the man, but he taught me, with a small gesture, one of the most important things about the job: kindness, intuition, touch, and that sometimes you don't even need words." The incidents described happened from age three to adulthood, and no doubt, in years to come, an expanded edition could detail further instances, as O'Farrell does seem to attract them. She described near misses with vehicles, a mugging, juvenile encephalitis, the birth of her first child, near drownings (three!), a knife-throwing act, dysentery-induced dehydration, and an encounter with a murderer. As with her fiction, O'Farrell's prose is often exquisite. This is a privileged peek into the life of an amazing author, a moving and fascinating read.

Thirroul

38612905

4.0 1

0.0

Reviews for Maggie O'Farrell's bestselling fiction: 'A book that surely confirms her as one of the UK's most assured, accomplished and inventive storytellers' - Observer

A rare talent to enthral... It will leave you bereft and wanting more - Sunday Times

A magnificent novel that is perceptive, profound and page-turning in equal measures. There are few things I look forward to like a Maggie O'Farrell novel and she never disappoints - Cathy Rentzenbrink

O'Farrell has a remarkable ability to convey the texture of human emotion with precision - Observer

O'Farrell is a skilful, impassioned writer...engaging and fluent - Sunday Telegraph

Genuinely unputdownable...evidence of her place as one of Britain's most engaging contemporary novelists - Literary Review

Irish author O'Farrell recounts how she overcame a childhood illness, a mismanaged labour and an encounter with a murderer on a remote path. - Marie Claire

ISBN: 9781472240750
ISBN-10: 1472240758
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 29th August 2017
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 13.9  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.36
Edition Number: 1