+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
How to Hang a Witch - Adriana Mather

How to Hang a Witch

Paperback

Published: 1st January 2018
Ships: 3 to 4 business days
3 to 4 business days
RRP $16.99
$11.90
30%
OFF

The trials of high school start to feel like a modern-day witch hunt for a teen with all the wrong connections to Salem's past in this thrilling, creepy and romantic New York Times bestseller.

After Sam's father is hospitalised, she has to move from New York to Salem with her stepmother, Vivian. Unfortunately, Sam is related to Cotton Mather, one of the men responsible for the Salem Witch Trials, and to say she feels unwelcome in Salem is an understatement...

She is particularly unnerved by The Descendants, a mysterious and tight-knit group of girls related to those persecuted in the Trials. At the same time, she must deal with Elijah, the handsome but angry ghost who has appeared in her house, and her new neighbour Jaxon only complicates things further. When a centuries-old curse is rekindled, Sam finds herself at the centre of it. Can she stop history repeating itself?

  • How to Hang a Witch is a New York Times bestseller and has been named one of New York Public Library's 50 best YA Books of 2016.
  • "I am utterly addicted to Adriana Mather’s electric debut. It keeps you on the edge of your seat, twisting and turning with ghosts, witches, an ancient curse, and – sigh – romance. It’s beautiful. Haunting. The characters are vivid and real. I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down." Jennifer Niven
  • Contemporary retelling of the Salem Witch Trials and relatable exploration of high-school bullying.
Review by Sarah McDuling

I’ve always loved a good witch story and when I heard How to Hang a Witch described as “The Salem Witch Trials meets Mean Girls” I knew I was in for a treat.

When Samantha Mather moves from New York City to Salem with her stepmother, she soon lands in trouble because of her family history. Her ancestor was Cotton Mather, a puritan minister involved in the Salem Witch Trials. Due to her heritage, Sam becomes the enemy of a group called The Descendants – those who can trace their ancestry back to Salem witches.

Full of witchcraft, ghosts and ancient curses, this book manages to be both creepy and fun at the same time. There is adventure, suspense and romance – plus a satisfying ending that still leaves things open for a sequel. Perfect for fans of Richelle Mead, Melissa de la Cruz, Rachel Caine and P.C. Cast.

And here’s a fun fact – the author of this book, Adriana Mather, is actually a descendant of Cotton Mather in real life! About the Author

Adriana Mather is an author, actress and co-owner of a film production company. Her family roots go back to the first Thanksgiving and the Salem Witch Trials. Adriana lives in Los Angeles.

I am utterly addicted to Adriana Mather's electric debut. It keeps you on the edge of your seat, twisting and turning with ghosts, witches, an ancient curse, and - sigh - romance. It's beautiful. Haunting. The characters are vivid and real. I. Could. Not. Put. It. Down. * Jennifer Niven, New York Times bestselling author of All the Bright Places and Holding Up the Universe * It's like Mean Girls meets history class in the best possible way. * Seventeen.com * A captivating and highly recommended read. Teens will not want this tale to end. * School Library Journal * [A]n entertaining story that draws intriguing parallels between the 17th-century trials and modern-day bullying. * Publishers Weekly * A story about curses, peer pressure, and legacies. * B&N Teen Blog *

ISBN: 9781406378795
ISBN-10: 1406378798
Audience: Children
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 384
Published: 1st January 2018
Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 13.1 x 19.9  x 2.4
Weight (kg): 0.25