+612 9045 4394
History of Political Philosophy - Leo Strauss

History of Political Philosophy

Paperback Published: 1st January 1987
ISBN: 9780226777108
Number Of Pages: 992

Share This Book:


RRP $65.00
Ships in 3 to 4 business days

This volume provides an unequaled introduction to the thought of chief contributors to the Western tradition of political philosophy from classical Greek antiquity to the twentieth century. Written by specialists on the various philosophers, this third edition has been expanded significantly to include both new and revised essays.

Preface to the Third Edition
Preface to the Second Edition
Preface to the First Edition
Tullius Cicero
St. Augustine
Moses Maimonides
St. Thomas Aquinas
Marsilius of Padua
Niccolo Machiavelli
Martin Luther and John Calvin
Richard Hooker
Francis Bacon
Hugo Grotius
Thomas Hobbes
Rene Descartes
John Milton
Benedict Spinoza
John Locke
Montesquieu David Lowenthal David Hume
Jean-Jacques Rousseau
Immanuel Kant
William Blackstone
Adam Smith
The Federalist
Thomas Paine
Edmund Burke
Jeremy Bentham and James Mill
Georg W.F. Hegel by
Alexis de Tocqueville
John Stuart Mill
Karl Marx
Friedrich Nietzsche
John Dewey
Edmund Husserl
Martin Heidegger
Epilogue: Leo Strauss and the History of Political Philosophy
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780226777108
ISBN-10: 0226777103
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 992
Published: 1st January 1987
Publisher: The University of Chicago Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 25.4 x 17.8  x 5.08
Weight (kg): 1.29
Edition Number: 3
Edition Type: Revised