+612 9045 4394
Heavy Metal in Baghdad : The Story of Acrassicauda - Andy Capper

Heavy Metal in Baghdad

The Story of Acrassicauda


Published: 17th November 2009
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $38.99

eBook View Product

Published: 17th November 2009
Format: ePUB

Born out of a basement rehearsal space in Baghdad, Acrassicauda (Latin for a deadly black scorpion native "Black Scorpion") is Iraq's only heavy metal band.

They began writing and playing metal in 2001 and soon learned that their dream of performing live in Iraq was going to be no easy task.

Acrassicauda were only able to play 3 shows before the war started in 2003. Due to increased security precautions throughout Iraq, it became difficult to practice or even get through a show without serious problems.

As the situation worsened in Baghdad they began receiving death threats from insurgent groups and religious fundamentalists accusing them of Satan-worship. Eventually, it proved impossible to find any venue that was safe to perform in.

Acrassicauda is literally a band on the run. While Iraq disintegrated around them, Acrassicauda struggled to stay together and stay alive, always refusing to let their heavy metal dreams die.

Their story echoes the unspoken hopes of an entire generation of young Iraqis.

"What an awesome story. This inspires me a lot." -- James Hetfield, Metallica

An Introduction To Acrassicaudap. xi
Roots Bloody Rootsp. 1
Children Of The Gravep. 11
Born To Raise Hellp. 23
Live Undeadp. 45
Hell Awaitsp. 61
Fight Fire With Firep. 75
Trail Of Tearsp. 103
Message From Baghdadp. 123
Peace Sell Out, But Who's Buyingp. 139
For Whom The Bell Tollp. 153
And Justice For Allp. 181
Epiloguep. 193
The Film Transcriptp. 201
Table of Contents provided by Ingram. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9781416595403
ISBN-10: 1416595406
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 17th November 2009
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 22.860 x 15.240  x 1.9
Weight (kg): 0.458
Edition Number: 1