+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven : Studies in the Music of the Classical Period. Essays in Honour of Alan Tyson - Sieghard Brandenburg

Haydn, Mozart, and Beethoven

Studies in the Music of the Classical Period. Essays in Honour of Alan Tyson

By: Sieghard Brandenburg (Editor)

Hardcover Published: 1st November 1997
ISBN: 9780198163626
Number Of Pages: 348

Share This Book:


or 4 easy payments of $56.74 with Learn more
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

Earn 454 Qantas Points
on this Book

Alan Tyson is Senior Research Fellow at All Souls College, Oxford, and a Fellow of the British Academy. He is a leading authority on composers and music of the Classical period, especially Mozart and Beethoven. He has made a greater contribution to the dating of sketches and compositions than any other scholar. His international reputation stems from his outstanding contribution to the dating and cataloguing of these composers' sketches, manuscript compositions, and early printed editions. This collection of 19 essays in his honour comprises scholarly contributions from an international group of distinguished musicologists under the editorship of Sieghard Brandenburg. The book also includes a complete checklist of Alan Tyson's writings on music.

Industry Reviews

... a fine collection of essays, immaculately presented by the Oxford University Press. / H C Robbins Landon, BBC Music, July 1999. `This is excellent musicology... finely presented and well-illustrated volume.' Julian Rushton, TLS. `useful to have a copy around. The list of books, articles, review and translations (of Freud) by Alan Tyson shows the impressive range of his work.' Early Music Review, May 1999

Forewordp. v
List of Platesp. ix
Watermarks Are Singles, Too: A Miscellany of Research Notesp. 1
Appendix: Example of Comparative Identification by Abbreviated Watermark Descriptionp. 12
The Sextet in C Major, by J. C. or J. C. F Bach?p. 13
A New Manuscript from Clementi's Early Years as A Keyboard Virtuosop. 21
The Triumph of Variability: Haydn's Articulation Markings in the Autograph of Sonata No. 49 in E Flatp. 33
Haydn's 'Entwurf-Katalog': Two Questionsp. 65
Haydn's Copyist Peter Ramplp. 85
Mozart and the Four-Hand Sonata K. 19dp. 91
The Adagio in F Major, K3 Anhang 206a = K6 Anhang A 65p. 101
Bibliographyp. 102
A Sketch-Leaf for Mozart's Contredanse 'La Bataille', K. 535p. 115
'N.N.' Revisited: New Light on Mozart's Late Correspondencep. 127
Mozart's Key Signatures: A Peculiar Feature of His Autograph Scoresp. 147
Beethoven's Minorityp. 151
Beethoven as Colourist: Another Look at His String Quartet Arrangement of the Piano Sonata, Op. 14 No. 1p. 175
Exploring the Eroica: Aspects of the New Critical Editionp. 181
Appendix: List of Wrong Notes in the Eroicap. 210
An Orchestral Version of Beethoven's Marsch Zur Gro├čen Wachtparadep. 213
Deconstructing Beethoven's Sketchbooksp. 225
Johanna Van Beethoven's Embezzlementp. 237
Some Romantic Images in Beethovenp. 253
In Search of Palestrina: Beethoven in the Archivesp. 283
Index of Worksp. 311
General Indexp. 315
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780198163626
ISBN-10: 0198163622
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 348
Published: 1st November 1997
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 24.13 x 16.41  x 2.41
Weight (kg): 0.68

Earn 454 Qantas Points
on this Book