+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Hartmann, Hindemith and Henze : 20th-Century Composers - Guy Rickards

Hartmann, Hindemith and Henze

20th-Century Composers

Paperback Published: 19th October 1995
ISBN: 9780714831749
Number Of Pages: 240

Share This Book:


Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

Guy Rickards' innovative biography examines three German composers - Paul Hindemith (1895-1963), Karl Amadeus Hartmann (1905-63) and Hans Werner Henze (b. 1926) - and demonstrates how a number of parallels can be drawn between their works, influences and roles in musical history, despite their varied backgrounds, musical approaches and political leanings.

A combination of new directions and German traditions was common to the music of all three composers; their works acknowledged the musical heritage of their homeland while also expanding and adding to it. During the twentieth century, the entwined lives of these three men served to create new paths and possibilities for the development of German music.

About the Author

Guy Rickards is a freelance writer on music. He contributes regularly to numerous publications including Gramophone, Contemporary Music Review, BBC Music Magazine and the Guardian.

Industry Reviews

'It is a beautifully produced volume. Rickards' text does a magnificent job in interweaving the lives of these composers against the background of the calamitous history of their homeland, using a good deal of material not otherwise available in English.' -- London Magazine

'As a series, Phaidon's 20th Century Composers has brought remarkable variety and a welter of information, both necessary and delightfully trivial. Intended both for the general reader and for the more enthusiatically musical...' -- The Scotsman

War and revolution; dancing on a volcano; the wellspring of artistic intuition; a trail of unending misery; ruin and resurgence; new perspective; the politics of commitment.

ISBN: 9780714831749
ISBN-10: 0714831743
Series: 20th-Century Composers
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 240
Published: 19th October 1995
Publisher: Phaidon Press Ltd
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.0 x 16.0  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 21.6
Edition Number: 1

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book