Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee! - Lisa Shanahan

Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee!

By: Lisa Shanahan, Binny (Illustrator)

Paperback | 27 December 2017 | Edition Number 1

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $16.99

$15.80

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
Ruby Lee is a little girl with a very big imagination. Every week Ruby's teacher, Mrs Majestic-Jones, asks special people to do special jobs in her class. Ruby would do anything to be the messenger, as she's the best in her class at announcing. But will her wild imagination get in the way?

A delightful story about an adorable and irrepressible heroine from CBCA award-winning author Lisa Shanahan and Illustrators Australia award-winner Binny. Perfect for fans of Charlie and Lola and Olivia.

About the Author

Lisa Shanahan is an award-winning writer of picture books and fiction for young people. Some of her well-loved books include Gordon's Got a Snookie, illustrated by Wayne Harris, and Bear and Chook and Daddy's Having a Horse, illustrated by Emma Quay. Her picture book Bear and Chook by the Sea, illustrated by Emma Quay, won the CBCA Book of the Year for Early Childhood in 2010 and BIG PET DAY, illustrated by Gus Gordon, won the Speech Pathology Book of the Year Award for the 5-8 age group in 2015.
Industry Reviews
The irrepressible Ruby will worm her way into readers' hearts as she tries so hard to be useful. They will readily recognise the school setting and the pitfalls of an overexcited imagination causing lapses in concentration, but even this flaw in Ruby's world makes her a necessary part of the class makeup. - ReadPlus

Ruby Lee is a highly enthusiastic student with a big imagination. But when it comes to being chosen as classroom helper, she's not always the most efficient. Hark, it's me, Ruby Lee! is a wild and animated tale of learning patience, working to your skillset and being yourself.

Award-winning author Lisa Shanahan, together with graphic illustrator Binny, provide a linguistic and visual treat with their eccentric blend of humour and design. Shanahan's quirky names are just the beginning of the literary goodness, with dialogue that perks in all the right places, and a storyline that is so authentically realistic despite all the crazy and creative figments Ruby Lee imagines in her mind. And flawlessly, Binny's fantastical, detailed illustrations with blocks of colour and line work add that extra depth and meaning to both Ruby Lee's real and made-up worlds.

Preschool and early years children will adore being taken into Ruby Lee's school life as messenger as she discovers not how to be like someone else, but where her own strengths lie. Hark, it's me, Ruby Lee! plays out like a set of comical and whimsical scenes that will be requested to be delivered over and over again. - Boomerang Books

2018 CBCA Awards Shortlist - Early Childhood

Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee! - Lisa Shanahan

RRP $16.99

$15.80

I'm Australian Too + Poster : I'm Australian - Mem Fox

CBCA Awards 2018 Honourees

Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee! - Lisa Shanahan

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Mopoke. - Philip Bunting

Hardcover

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
The Great Rabbit Chase - Freya Blackwood

RRP $26.99

$22.95

15%
OFF
Mallee Boys - Charlie Archbold

Paperback

$24.95

Left & Right - Lorna Hendry

Paperback

RRP $27.99

$23.75

15%
OFF

2018 Prime Minister's Literary Award Children's Literature Shortlist

Hark, It's Me, Ruby Lee! - Lisa Shanahan

RRP $16.99

$15.80

Popular Searches