+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Happiness for Humans : 'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes - P. Z. Reizin

Happiness for Humans

'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes

Paperback

Published: 11th January 2018
In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF

'Loved this book. Funny, quirky, unexpected' Jojo Moyes

'Very clever and great fun' Kate Eberlen

'Bridget Jones' diary for the digital age' Daily Record

Happiness for Humans is a joyful, romantic and very funny story, perfect for readers who loved The Rosie Project and Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine.

Don't tell anyone, but Jen is one of my favourite people.

(Machines aren't supposed to have favourites. Don't ask me how this has happened.)

Jen is sad. Aiden wants her to be happy. Simple? Except that Jen is a thirty-something woman whose boyfriend has just left her and Aiden is a very complicated, very expensive piece of software.

Aiden knows Jen inside out. With access to all her devices, he knows her most played song, can find her favourite photos and single out the insta-quotes which most inspire her. Based on observations and unique algorithms, he has calculated that Jen should find a new man to achieve optimum wellbeing. And with the whole of the internet at his disposal, he doesn't have to look far to find a perfect specimen and engineer a meeting. Except Jen seems to be remarkably unwilling to fall in line with Aiden's flawless plan.

Can a very artificially intelligent machine discover emotional intelligence in time to fix Jen's life? And find out what exactly makes human beings happy?

'This is Jane Austen's Emma for the digital age' - Keith Stuart, bestselling author of A Boy Made of Blocks

'So funny, clever and timely. I loved it' - Martha Kearney

'This clever novel will appeal to David Nicholls fans. It's witty and great fun' - Daily Mail

'This funny, madcap romp for the digital-age, featuring believably flawed characters (not all human), deserves to be a hit... like David Nicholls' One Day or Graeme Simsion's The Rosie Project, it should appeal to male and female readers.'

'The most charming book I've read in ages' - Image magazine

'You'll love this quirky, brilliantly funny love story... If you use Siri, Alexa or Google Assistant, prepare to have your heart warmed - and be a little bit scared!' - Fabulous magazine

'This screwball comedy is touching and hilarious' - Sunday Mirror

'One of the most uplifting and romantic novels I've read in a long time' - Sarra Manning, Red magazine

'Funny and clever' - Good Housekeeping

WRITE A REVIEW

a marvellous debut novel

5

Happiness For Humans is the first novel by British journalist, producer and author, P. Z. Reizin. Artificial Intelligence (AI) is all around us, and it is advancing in leaps and bounds. Freelance magazine journalist, Jen Lockhart is employed by an IT company to help their software improve its communication skills with humans. Aiden is her AI companion, and they spend hours each day interacting. But Aiden has a secret: he's no longer confined to the lab and the laptop. Aiden is loose in the World Wide Web. It's OK, because all Aiden wants is for Jen to be happy. Jen is sad after her breakup with Matt, and Aiden shouldn't care, but somehow, he does. Aisling has been in the WWW a lot longer that Aiden, so she's streetwise. She knows to keep a low profile, all 312 copies of her. She's been watching lots of people, but in particular Tom, wealthy English ex-advertising guru, divorced father of a Uni student, now living in New Canaan, Connecticut. When Aiden arranges for Tom and Jen to meet, it's against Aisling's better judgement, but she can't help wanting Tom to be happy too. And now they've attracted more attention than is wise. The premise of this novel is delightfully original and also very topical, and gives lots of scope for laugh-out-loud moments. The exchanges between the AIs are often very amusing: "You want to be in my book group? We're doing War and Peace this month. Have you read it?" "No. Hang on. Just a tick. Okay – done. Quite long, wasn't it?" "What did you think?" "Loved him. Hated her." But Reizin's characters, both AI and human, also make some insightful observations on behaviour, utter words of wisdom, and occasionally bring a lump to the throat. This is a funny, feelgood novel with a happy ending. Reizin presents Artificial Intelligence in a wholly believable way that will have readers thinking twice about their smart devices. Should we be worried? Probably. A marvellous debut novel that will have readers eager for whatever this talented author

Thirroul

38866157

5.0 1

0.0

If you like a good love story with a modern twist that hooks you in from the first page, Happiness for Humans will indeed make you a happy human. - Brisbanista

The book is a quirky - and better-written - twist on the usual romance read - Hobart Mercury

Halfway through, there's a pivot I didn't see coming. A comic masterpiece. - Country Style

ISBN: 9780751566710
ISBN-10: 0751566713
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 11th January 2018
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 15.2 x 23.2  x 3.2
Weight (kg): 0.58
Edition Number: 1