+612 9045 4394
Great Convict Stories : Dramatic and moving tales from Australia's brutal early years - Graham Seal

Great Convict Stories

Dramatic and moving tales from Australia's brutal early years

Paperback Published: 7th January 2019
ISBN: 9781760527488
Number Of Pages: 304

Share This Book:


RRP $22.99
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

Graham Seal brings to life the brutal Australian convict transportation system with stories of notorious criminals, colourful characters, and harsh punishments. There were also happy endings for the men and women for whom transportation was an opportunity to start afresh in a new land.

Graham Seal takes us back to Australia's ignominious beginnings, when a hungry child could be transported to the other side of the globe for the theft of a handkerchief.

It was a time when men were flogged till they bled for a minor misdemeanour, or forced to walk the treadmill for hours. Teams in iron chains carved roads through sandstone cliffs with hand picks, and men could select wives from a line up at the female factory. From the notorious prison regimes at Norfolk Island, Port Arthur and Macquarie Harbour came chilling accounts of cruelty, murder and even cannibalism.

Despite the often harsh conditions, many convicts served their prison terms and built successful lives for themselves and their families. With a cast of colourful characters from around the country — the real Artful Dodger, intrepid bushrangers like Martin Cash and Moondyne Joe, and the legendary nurse Margaret Catchpole — Great Convict Stories offers a fascinating insight into life in Australia's first decades.

About the Author

Graham Seal is Professor of Folklore at Curtin University, and a leading expert on Australian cultural history. He is the bestselling author of Great Australian Stories, Great Anzac Stories, Larrikins, Bush Tales and Other Great Australian Stories, Great Australian Journeys and Great Bush Stories.

Industry Reviews

"Graham Seal has the knack of the storyteller."
Warren Fahey AM

Prologue: Lashland


1. Unpromising Beginnings

2. Perilous Voyages

3. The Convict Underworld

4. The System

5. Pain and Suffering

6. Troublemakers

7. Places of Condemnation

8. Desperate Escapes

9. The Felonry

10. A Convict Stain



Notes and Sources

Further Reading


ISBN: 9781760527488
ISBN-10: 1760527483
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 7th January 2019
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 12.8

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book