+612 9045 4394
Got a Revolution! : The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane - Jeff Tamarkin

Got a Revolution!

The Turbulent Flight of Jefferson Airplane

Paperback Published: 19th July 2005
ISBN: 9780671034047
Number Of Pages: 432

Share This Book:


RRP $54.99
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

The most successful and influential rock band to emerge from San Francisco during the 1960s, Jefferson Airplane created the sound of a generation. Their smash hits "Somebody to Love" and "White Rabbit" virtually invented the era's signature pulsating psychedelic music and, during one of the most tumultuous times in American history, came to personify the decade's radical counterculture. In this groundbreaking biography of the band, veteran music writer and historian Jeff Tamarkin produces a portrait of the band like none that has come before it. Having worked closely with Jefferson Airplane for more than a decade, Tamarkin had unprecedented access to the band members, their families, friends, lovers, crew members, fellow musicians, cultural luminaries, even the highest-ranking politicians of the time. More than just a definitive history, Got a Revolution is a rock legend unto itself.

Jann Wenner, editor-in-chief and publisher of "Rolling Stone," wrote, "The classic Jefferson] Airplane lineup were both architects and messengers of a psychedelic age, a liberation of mind and body that profoundly changed American art, politics, and spirituality. It was a renaissance that could only have been born in San Francisco, and the Airplane, more than any other band in town, spread the good news nationwide."

Industry Reviews

"Jeff Tamarkin is an able guide through the tangled history of one of the Sixties' most musically visionary bands."
-- Rolling Stone
"Jeff Tamarkin knows more about me and the band than I do."
-- Grace Slick, Jefferson Airplane singer
"Finally! A book about Jefferson Airplane that restores them to their rightful place of importance in history...Tamarkin has done a remarkable job."
-- Pete Fornatale, WFUV, New York
"This book brings it all back: Good rocking; good reading."
-- Ben Fong-Torres, former senior editor of Rolling Stone and author of Not Fade Away: A Backstage Pass to 20 Years of Rock & Roll

Prologue: Halfway Down the Stairs is a Stair
If Only You Believe Like I Believe
Alternate Quantum Universes
Let's Get Together
Blues Traveler
It's No Secret
Bass Is Loaded
After You
Just a Dream
A Mule Team Knocking Down a Picket Fence
Free Minds, Free Bodies, Free Dope, Free Music
Wonder Woman
The Great! Society Really Doesn't Like You Much at All
Trying to Revolutionize Tomorrow
Acid, Incense and Balloons
The Love Crowd
Doing Things That Haven't Got a Name Yet
Life Is Change, How It Differs from the Rocks
Can't Help but See the Rhinoceros Around Us
When Spencer Met Sally
Outlaws in the Eyes of America
Blues from an Airplane
Never Say "Fuck You" to a Hell's Angel
And Your Enemy Is We
Planet Earth Rock and Roll Orchestra
Gotta Let Go, You Know
Reality Check
Jefferson Airplane Flakes Off
Tuna Melt
Thomas' Jefferson
We Do What We Want!
Hijack the Starship
Peace and War
Epilogue: Whatever Happened to Wishes Wished on a Star?
Sources and Resources
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780671034047
ISBN-10: 0671034049
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 432
Published: 19th July 2005
Publisher: Atria Books
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.72 x 14.2  x 2.74
Weight (kg): 0.59
Edition Number: 1