+612 9045 4394
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian - Kurt Vonnegut

God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian


Published: 27th January 2011
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $23.99

So when my own time comes to join the choir invisible or whatever, God forbid, I hope someone will say 'He's up in Heaven now.' Who really knows? I could have dreamed all this.

God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian includes all of Kurt Vonnegut's intrepid investigative reporting from the afterlife, from when he was sent there in 1998 by local NPR affiliate WNYC to interview, among others, Sir Isaac Newton, Clarence Darrow, James Earl Ray, Eugene Debs, John Brown, Adolf Hitler, William Shakespeare, and Kilgore Trout.

What began as a series of ninety-second radio interludes evolved into this provocative collection of musings about who and what we live for, and how much it all matters in the end. From the original portrait by his friend Jules Feiffer that graces the cover, to the last word of the last entry, God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian is a joy forever.

Kurt Vonnegut (1922–2007) was among the few grandmasters of contemporary American letters, one without whom the very term American literature would mean much less than it does. His books endure as defiant—and charming—embodiments of the heights to which the human imagination will go in search of essential rights and freedoms. Vonnegut's books from Seven Stories Press include the national hardcover and paperback bestseller, A Man Without a Country; God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian; and, with Lee Stringer, Like Shaking Hands with God: A Conversation About Writing.

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959), Mother Night (1961), Cat's Cradle (1963), God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964), Welcome to the Monkey House ; a collection of short stories (1968), Breakfast of Champions (1973), Slapstick , or Lonesome No More (1976), Jailbird (1979), Deadeye Dick (1982), Galapagos (1985), Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990). During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969). He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991).

Visit Kurt Vonnegut's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9781609800734
ISBN-10: 1609800737
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 96
Published: 27th January 2011
Publisher: Seven Stories Press,U.S.
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.2 x 12.9  x 0.7
Weight (kg): 0.11
Edition Number: 1