+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Gather the Daughters - Jennie Melamed

Gather the Daughters

Paperback

Published: 25th July 2017
In Stock. Ships today or next business day from Australia
RRP $29.99
$23.95
20%
OFF
if ordered within

For fans of Emma Cline's THE GIRLS and Emily St John Mandel's STATION 11, this dark, unsettling and hugely compelling story of an isolated island cult will get under your skin.

Gather the Daughters tells the story of an end-of-the-world cult founded years ago when ten men colonised an island. It's a society in which men reign supreme, breeding is controlled, and knowledge of the outside world is kept to a minimum. Girls are wives-in-training: at the first sign of puberty, they must marry and have children. But until that point, every summer, island tradition dictates that the children live wildly: running free, making camps, sleeping on the beach. And it is at the end of one such summer that one of the youngest girls sees something so horrifying that life on the island can never be the same again.

About the Author

Jennie Melamed is a psychiatric nurse practitioner who specialises in working with traumatised children. She lives in Seattle. This is her first novel.

[A] dark, compelling debut... At a time when it feels as if women's rights around the world are being slowly eroded this absorbing novel is both gripping and to-the-bone chilling. Melamed is definitely a talent to watch. * Daily Express * At times harrowing in its depiction of cruelty, at other times joy-filled and buoyed by the spirit of liberated girlhood, this is an exhilarating, feminist cry-out, which I hope finds a wide readership * The Big Issue * Melamed's haunting and powerful debut blazes a fresh path in the tradition of classic dystopian works...a searing portrayal of a utopian society gone wrong...Melamed's prose is taut and precise. Her nuanced characters and honest examination of the crueler sides of human nature establish her as a formidable author in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Margaret Atwood * Publishers Weekly * A terrifying work of speculative fiction ... Melamed is a masterful writer, and she establishes a hauntingly vivid atmosphere....This is a haunting work in the spirit of The Handmaid's Tale-but Melamed more than holds her own. Fearsome, vivid, and raw * Kirkus Reviews * Gather The Daughters is extraordinary, powerful, and harrowing-and yet hopeful in its portrait of the human spirit and the endurance of love. This is a visceral book on all levels and it is haunting me still -- Julie Cohen Gather the Daughters is an always-compelling and sometimes-shocking read as the horrific secrets of the island are slowly revealed. I read it in one sleep-deprived sitting * Red Magazine * An assured, lyrical and vivid debut * Irish Independent * Obsessed with The Handmaid's Tale? This brilliant book is the one for you * Stylist * A chilling, vividly realised feminist novel that propels the reader into the dark heart of a cruelly repressive and sinister society * Daily Mail * It's a richly envisioned world, the strange isolation of which Melamed is excellent at teasing out slowly * Independent * An exceptional debut * Sunday Telegraph * A skilful novel full of suspense * Guardian * An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart -- Kate Hamer

ISBN: 9781472241719
ISBN-10: 1472241711
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 25th July 2017
Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.4 x 15.4  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 0.45
Edition Number: 1