+612 9045 4394
Galapagos - Kurt Vonnegut


Published: 25th July 1994
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $26.99
if ordered within

The human survivors of the "nature cruise of the century", are quietly evolving into sleek, furry creatures with flippers and small brains.

All other forms of humankind have ceased to exist, made redundant by their prized big brains. From the author of Slaughterhouse Five.

About the Author

Kurt Vonnegut (November 11, 1922 – April 11, 2007) was a 20th century American writer. His works such as Cat's Cradle (1963), Slaughterhouse-Five (1969), and Breakfast of Champions (1973) blend satire, gallows humor, and science fiction. As a citizen he was a lifelong supporter of the American Civil Liberties Union and a critical leftist intellectual. He was known for his humanist beliefs and was honorary president of the American Humanist Association.

'Once again Vonnegut throws up his hands at the human race, condemning it for its overweening technology, war-making, greed and other perversities. And yet, underneath, he still seems to like people, so his solution in this quasi-science-fiction novel is to "evolve" humanity for another million years until it becomes unift for mischief - in fact, fit for little else but catching fish. In this prickly and only occasionally funny ramble, that represents progress. The narrator is a ghost in this death-haunted tale, a disillusioned Vietnam vet who happens to be the son of Vonnegut's Kilgore Trout. He watches as an odd lot of damaged people assemble in 1986 in an Ecuadorean port to join "the nature cruise of the century" to Galapagos, volcanic islands made famous by Darwin's visit. The world is in the throes of an economic crisis, Ecuadoreans are starving, war and all hell break out - and the little band of misfits, reduced in number but augmented by some cannibal girls, set out to sea for refuge. It is they who become the ancestors of the future human race because the rest of the world becomes sterile and dies out. Vonnegut has his followers who like big issues treated in so jaunty a fashion. His voice is good, clear middle. American, and he doesn't beat about the bush. One of his devices is to put an asterisk by the name of a character who is about to die. There is a subtext to this story: an attempt to deal with disease and death by mocking them. Vonnegut is whistling in the dark, and it's a thin, jumpy little tune despite his feats of imagination. But his dark is real enough.' - Kirkus Reviews

Kurt Vonnegut

Kurt Vonnegut was born in Indianapolis in 1922. He studied at the universities of Chicago and Tennessee and later began to write short stories for magazines. His first novel, Player Piano, was published in 1951 and since then he has written many novels, among them: The Sirens of Titan (1959), Mother Night (1961), Cat's Cradle (1963), God Bless You Mr Rosewater (1964), Welcome to the Monkey House ; a collection of short stories (1968), Breakfast of Champions (1973), Slapstick , or Lonesome No More (1976), Jailbird (1979), Deadeye Dick (1982), Galapagos (1985), Bluebeard (1988) and Hocus Pocus (1990). During the Second World War he was held prisoner in Germany and was present at the bombing of Dresden, an experience which provided the setting for his most famous work to date, Slaughterhouse Five (1969). He has also published a volume of autobiography entitled Palm Sunday (1981) and a collection of essays and speeches, Fates Worse Than Death (1991).

Visit Kurt Vonnegut's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780586090459
ISBN-10: 0586090452
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 240
Published: 25th July 1994
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 1.4
Weight (kg): 0.181