+612 9045 4394
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Formosa Calling : An Eyewitness Account of the February 28th, 1947 Incident - Allan J Shackleton

Formosa Calling

An Eyewitness Account of the February 28th, 1947 Incident

Paperback Published: 21st March 2017
ISBN: 9781910736449
Number Of Pages: 124

Other Formats

Share This Book:
Ships in 15 business days

Earn 48 Qantas Points
on this Book

Recently occupied by the Nationalist Chinese regime, Taiwan in early 1947 was a powder keg. Anger at the corrupt misrule of the new government erupted into protests and riots, which quickly became an island-wide uprising. The response from the Nationalists was brutal and overwhelming - a weeks-long massacre in which local leaders and intellectuals were systematically slaughtered. Estimates of the dead range from ten thousand to thirty thousand. The killings became known as the -228 Massacre-, the -228 Incident-, or simply -228-, after the date of the first riots (February 28).

Allan J. Shackleton was a New Zealand officer with the United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration assigned to in Taiwan at the time. His eyewitness account of the massacre is an important document for understanding modern Taiwan's founding tragedy. Shackleton tried for years to get it published, but it was deemed too politically sensitive during the Cold War, when -Free China- was an ally of the Western world. Finally, after Taiwan's first democratic presidential election, Shackleton's son was approached by a publisher and the first edition appeared in 1998, fifty years after it was written.

This Camphor Press edition has been reset and carries a number of minor corrections to the 1998 edition.

ISBN: 9781910736449
ISBN-10: 1910736449
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 124
Published: 21st March 2017
Publisher: Camphor Press Ltd
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 14.0  x 0.7
Weight (kg): 0.17

Earn 48 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by