Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Flora and the Flamingo : Flora and Her Feathered Friends-books - Molly Idle

Flora and the Flamingo

By: Molly Idle (Illustrator)

Hardcover | 1 March 2013 | Edition Number 1

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

In this magical Caldecott Honor-winning picture book, Flora and her graceful flamingo friend wordlessly explore the trials and joys of friendship through an elaborate synchronized dance.

Every little ballerina dreams of her turn as a dancing diva. Endearing Flora in swimsuit, bathing cap, and flippers admires a pink flamingo . . . and with a twist, a turn, and even a flop, these unlikely friends learn at last how to dance together in perfect harmony.

An innovative wordless picture book with interactive flaps, Flora and the Flamingo is full of humor and heart. This stunning performance (and splashy ending!) will have readers clapping for more!

FOR THE LOVE OF THE DANCE: For children and adults who share a passion for ballet, jazz, tap, Irish Step, or any form of dance, the joyful Flora books offer an engaging, hands-on reading experience that celebrates the magic of movement.

FINE-FEATHERED FRIENDS: Friendships in children's books come in many wonderful forms. The connection made in this gentle story as a girl and a bird dance in tandem is a lovely reminder that friendship is truly the wind beneath our wings.

For more feathery fun with the flamingo girls, pick up more preschool wordless books from award-winning author-illustrator Molly Idle, including Flora and the Penguin, Flora and the Peacocks, Flora and the Chicks, and Flora and the Ostrich.

Perfect for:
  • Parents and caregivers seeking unique picture books with lift-the-flap interaction and beautifully flowing illustrations
  • Gift giving for baby shower, birthday, holiday, dance recital, moving up, or graduation celebrations
  • For fans of Angelina Ballerina, Pinkalicious, Lola Dutch, and Ella Bella Ballerina books
Industry Reviews
"A great story of friendship and forgiveness." - Erik, age 11, ThisKid ReviewsBooks.com
"An absolute delight."--School Library Journal Extra Helping
"Fanciful and beautiful." - Reading Today
"Flora and the Flamingo is so perfect there really are no words to describe it." - Virgina Beach Public Library
"I was entirely swept away." - Design of the Picture Book
"In stunning shades of pink with bright yellow accents, squat little pear-shaped Flora tries to emulate a proud and graceful flamingo. It takes a while for the flamingo to realize that imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but when the two reconcile their relationship, a double-page foldout is barely large enough to contain the joy."--Carla Kozak, San Francisco Public Library
"Irresistible." - San Francisco Chronicle
"Like a classical music masterpiece, this book starts as a quiet story and cuminates with great power."--Young Children
"One of my favorite books of 2013" - Colby Sharp, Sharpread
"Seamless and dynamic visual storytelling" - Publishers Weekly, Starred Review
"Shows the power of friendship." - Mother-Daughter Book Club
"The seamless grace of the flamingo's dance contrasts humorously with Flora's faltering steps, but by the end of the story, they swoop, plunge and soar together like old ballet partners." - Kirkus Reviews
"The simplicity and elegance of each drawing is awe-inspiring." - Sweet on Books
"This delightful romp... will appeal to flamingo and ballet fans alike." - School library Journal, starred review
"A perfect amalgamation of wordless storytelling.... as emotional as it is visual" - Elizabeth Bird, A Fuse #8 Production, a School Library Journal Blog
"Cinematic, comedic, and balletic."-The Horn Book Magazine, starred review
http: //www.reading.org/general/Publications/blog/BlogSinglePost/reading-today-online/2013/12/11/diverse-and-impressive-picture-books-of-2013#.UrM99uL2JTa
BookPage Best Books of The Tear
New York Public Library 100 Titles for Reading and Sharing 2013
School Library Journal Best Books of the Year

More in Picture Books & Early Learning

Bluey : The Decider - Bluey

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Bluey : The Doctor - Bluey

Board Book

RRP $14.99

$14.25

The Sea in Me - Cody Simpson

Hardcover

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Where is the Green Sheep? Sticker Activity Book - Mem Fox
ABC Disability - Sarah Rose

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Let Me Be Frank - Jessica Urlichs

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Lights Out, Little Dragon! - Debra Tidball

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Sleepy Sheepy - Lucy Ruth Cummins

Hardcover

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Backyard Footy - Carl Merrison

RRP $16.99

$16.25

Emma Memma Little Library : 4 board books in 1 - Emma Memma
Language, Literacy and Early Childhood Education : 4th Edition - Janet Fellowes
Funky Chicken : A Bushy Tale of Crocs and Chooks - Chris Collin

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $25.99

$23.50

10%
OFF
Florette - Anna Walker

Hardcover

RRP $24.99

$21.75

13%
OFF
Mama Bear and Me - Sophie Beer

EOFY Sale

RRP $24.99

$14.50

42%
OFF
Wild About Mums - Philip Bunting

Board Book

RRP $19.99

$18.95

The Wonderful Wedding : Billie B Brown #27 - Sally Rippin
My Feel Good Book : How To Be A Positive You - Trace Moroney

RRP $20.99

$14.95

29%
OFF
Bluey: What Would Bluey's Mum Do? : A Mother's Day Book - Bluey
Anzac Ted : 10th Anniversary Edition - Belinda Landsberry

RRP $29.99

$27.90

Kevin the Sheep : Kevin the Sheep 1 - Jacqueline Harvey

RRP $17.99

$17.25

The Very Hungry Caterpillar's Lift and Learn : Farm - Carle, Eric
The Crayons Love Our Planet : The Crayons - Drew Daywalt