+612 9045 4394
Fitzgerald: My Lost City : Personal Essays, 1920-1940 - F. Scott Fitzgerald

Fitzgerald: My Lost City

Personal Essays, 1920-1940


Published: 8th September 2005
Ships: 7 to 10 business days
7 to 10 business days
RRP $453.99
or 4 easy payments of $78.56 with Learn more

Twice during the last decade of his life, in 1934 and 1936, F. Scott Fitzgerald proposed a collection of his personal essays to Maxwell Perkins, his editor at Charles Scribner's Sons. Perkins was unenthusiastic on both occasions, and Fitzgerald died in 1940 without having put his best essays between hard covers. Fortunately Fitzgerald left behind a table of contents, and with this list as a guide it has been possible to publish here the collection that he envisioned, under the title My Lost City. This volume also includes several of Fitzgerald's autobiographical writings. My Lost City, like the other volumes in the Cambridge Edition, provides accurate texts based on Fitzgerald's surviving manuscripts and typescripts. Words and passages cut by magazine editors have been restored to several of the essays. A textual apparatus has been included, along with full explanatory notes identifying people, places, books, historical events, and other details.

'The result is a wealth of context for these very contemporary essays ...' Peter Shillingsburg, De Montfort University

Fitzgerald's Selections, 1936
Who's Who - and Why (1920)
Princeton (1927)
What I Think and Feel at 25 (1922)
How to Live on $36,000 a Year (1924)
How to Live on Practically Nothing a Year (1924)
Imagination - and a Few Mothers (1923)
'Wait Till You Have Children of Your Own!' (1924)
How to Waste Material (1926)
One Hundred False Starts (1933)
Ring (1933)
A Short Autobiography (1929)
Girls Believe in Girls (1930)
My Lost City (1935/1940)
'Show Mr. and Mrs F. to Number ' (1934)
Echoes of the Jazz Age (1931)
The Crack-Up (1936)
Pasting It Together (1936)
Handle with Care (1936)
Additional Essays, 1936-1940
Auction - Model 1934 (1934)
Sleeping and Waking (1934)
Author's House (1936)
Afternoon of an Author (1936)
An Author's Mother (1936)
Early Success (1937)
My Generation (1939)
Record of Variants
Explanatory notes
Appendix 1
Appendix 2
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521402392
ISBN-10: 0521402395
Series: The Cambridge Edition of the Works of F. Scott Fitzgerald
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 366
Published: 8th September 2005
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 21.6 x 13.8  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 0.56