+612 9045 4394
File on Wilde : Writer-Files - Margery Mary Morgan

File on Wilde



Published: 1st August 2006
RRP $23.95
if ordered within
This title is not in stock at the Booktopia Warehouse and needs to be ordered from our supplier.
Click here to read more about delivery expectations.

'Writer Files is an important series documenting the work of major dramatists of the last hundred years Oscar Wilde was born in Dublin in 1856. In the years following his graduation from Oxford in 1878 he published poems and stories which included The Picture of Dorian Gray. Lady Windermere's Fan was produced in 1892, A Woman of No Importance in 1893 and An Ideal Husband and The Importance of Being Earnest in 1895. Later work included De Profundis and The Ballad of Reading Gaol. He died in 1900.Each volume contains a comprehensive checklist of all the writer's plays, with a detailed performance history, excerpted reviews and a selection of the writers' own comments on their work.'

General Editor's Introductionp. 5
A Brief Chronologyp. 7
The plays
Stage Plays
Vera, or The Nihilistsp. 12
The Duchess of Paduap. 15
Salomep. 16
Lady Windermere's Fanp. 24
A Woman of No Importancep. 29
An Ideal Husbandp. 36
The Importance of Being Earnestp. 40
Incomplete Plays
A Florentine Tragedyp. 51
La Sainte Courtisanep. 53
A Wife's Tragedyp. 53
Scenarios and Adaptations
The Cardinal of Avignonp. 54
Mr. and Mrs. Daventryp. 54
The Critic as Artistp. 55
Non-Dramatic Writingsp. 56
The Writer on His Workp. 62
A Select Bibliographyp. 71
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780413536303
ISBN-10: 0413536300
Series: Writer-Files
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 80
Published: 1st August 2006
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 18.59 x 12.17  x 0.66
Weight (kg): 0.05
Edition Number: 1