+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Feminasty : The Complicated Woman's Guide to Surviving the Patriarchy Without Drinking Herself to Death - Erin Gibson

Feminasty

The Complicated Woman's Guide to Surviving the Patriarchy Without Drinking Herself to Death

Hardcover Published: 4th September 2018
ISBN: 9781455571864
Number Of Pages: 288

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $52.00
$35.35
32%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 71 Qantas Points
on this Book

From the wickedly funny and feminist creator and host of the "Throwing Shade" podcast, a collection of hilarious personal essays and political commentary perfect for fans of Lindy West and Roxane Gay.

Since women earned the right to vote a little under one hundred years ago, our progress hasn't been the Olympic sprint toward gender equality first wave feminists hoped for, but more of a slow, elderly mall walk (with frequent stops to Cinnabon) over the four hundred million hurdles we still face. Some of these obstacles are obvious-unequal pay, under-representation in government, reproductive restrictions, lack of floor-length mirrors in hotel rooms. But a lot of them are harder to identify. They're the white noise of oppression that we've accepted as lady business as usual, and the patriarchy wants to keep it that way.

Erin Gibson has a singular goal-to create a utopian future where women are recognized as humans. In FEMINASTY-titled after her nickname on the hit podcast "Throwing Shade"-she has written a collection of make-you-laugh-until-you-cry essays that expose the hidden rules that make life as a woman unnecessarily hard and deconstructs them in a way that's bold, provocative and hilarious.

Whether it's shaming women for having their periods, allowing them into STEM fields but never treating them like they truly belong, or dictating strict rules for how they should dress in every situation, Erin breaks down the organized chaos of old fashioned sexism, intentional and otherwise, that systemically keeps women down.

Industry Reviews

We dare you to find a more relatable book title. Comedian and Throwing Shade podcast host Erin Gibson gave us the gift of this collection of omg-I'm-literally-dying level hilarious essays that tackle the 'hidden rules that make life as a woman harder.' Not only will you learn sh*t, but you'll also laugh a lot. What could be better than that?"
--Betches.com
"Gibson uses her very presence as an act of defiance-she's a loud Southern lady with size-11 feet who grew up poor white trash-and readers will be grateful that she can't keep her mouth shut."--Booklist
"The rhetorical purposes of the work are clear: Gibson seeks to lift up women at every opportunity, especially by changing the gender balance in political power."--Kirkus Reviews

"Erin Gibson--one-half of the crazy-popular Throwing Shade podcast--is as sharply funny as she is unabashedly feminist. Damn smart, too. Each of the essays in this book is an eye-opening lesson in how the patriarchy is working against us, and how to fight back. #themoreyouknow"--Cosmopolitan

ISBN: 9781455571864
ISBN-10: 1455571865
Audience: General
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 4th September 2018
Dimensions (cm): 21.59 x 14.61  x 2.54
Weight (kg): 0.41

Earn 71 Qantas Points
on this Book