+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Fall, Or Dodge In Hell - Neal Stephenson

Fall, Or Dodge In Hell

Paperback Published: 22nd May 2019
ISBN: 9781460752128
Number Of Pages: 896

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.99
$25.90
21%
OFF
In Stock
if ordered within
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 52 Qantas Points
on this Book

The astonishing new work of imaginative fiction from master storyteller and futurist, Neal Stephenson, author of Reamde, Seveneves and Snow Crash

Richard "Dodge" Forthrast, the billionaire founder and chairman of video game company Corporation 9592, was last seen in Neal's Stephenson's 2011 novel Reamde. Now middle-aged, Dodge lives a comfortable life in Seattle, managing myriad business interests and spending quality time with his grandniece, Sophia, daughter of his beloved niece Zula (also last seen in Reamde). As Fall opens, Dodge undergoes a "routine medical procedure"; when something goes horribly, irrevocably wrong, he is pronounced brain dead and put on life support.

As Dodge's family and friends gather and struggle to come to terms with this turn of events, his health directive comes to light: Dodge's remains are to be given to Ephrata Life Sciences and Health, a company founded and run by one Elmo Shepherd. Dodge's brain will be scanned, its data structures uploaded to and stored in the cloud.

What happens next is pure, unadulterated, mind-blowing FUN: a grand drama played out on an epic scale in digital space. For what is achieved, ultimately, is nothing less than the disruption of death itself. A new world, the Bitworld, is created - an afterlife wherein humans live on not as spirits but as digital simulations. But this brave new world is not the Utopia it might first seem...

Neal Stephenson is at the cutting edge of speculative fiction. His sprawling, epic stories are master works of imagination, conjuring an all-too-real, all-too-possible future for our society. His work has been recognised by multiple awards and high-profile fans such as Barack Obama.

In the tradition of William Gibson and Liu Cixin, The Fall is a compelling, terrifying, fast-paced near-future thriller.

About the Author

Neal Stephenson is the author of Seveneves, Reamde, Anathem ; the three-volume historical epic the Baroque Cycle (Quicksilver, The Confusion , and The System of the World ); Cryptonomicon, The Diamond Age, Zodiac and the iconic Snow Crash , named one of Time magazine's top one hundred all-time best English-language novels. He lives in Seattle, Washington.

ISBN: 9781460752128
ISBN-10: 1460752120
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 896
Published: 22nd May 2019
Dimensions (cm): 23.5 x 15.6  x 5.2
Weight (kg): 0.9

Earn 52 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by