+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Eye of the Red Tsar : Inspector Pekkala Series : Book 1 - Sam Eastland

Eye of the Red Tsar

Inspector Pekkala Series : Book 1

Paperback Published: 25th January 2011
ISBN: 9780553593235
Number Of Pages: 294

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $32.00
$25.75
20%
OFF
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

This riveting suspense debut introduces both a stellar new voice and a remarkable detective, an outsider who must use his extraordinary talents to solve the one case that may redeem him.
Shortly after midnight on July 17, 1918, the imprisoned family of Tsar Nicholas Romanov was awakened and led down to the basement of the Ipatiev house. There they were summarily executed. Their bodies were hidden away, the location a secret of the Soviet state.
A decade later, one man lives in purgatory, banished to a forest on the outskirts of humanity. Pekkala was once the most trusted secret agent of the Romanovs, the right-hand man of the Tsar himself. Now he is Prisoner 4745-P, living a harsh existence in which even the strongest vanish into the merciless Soviet winter.
But the state needs Pekkala one last time. The man who knew the Romanovs best is given a final mission: catch their killers, locate the royal child rumored to be alive, and give Stalin the international coup he craves. Find the bodies, Pekkala is told, and you will find your freedom. Find the survivor of that bloody night and you will change history.
In a land of uneasy alliances and deadly treachery, pursuing clues that have eluded everyone, Pekkala is thrust into the past where he once reigned. There he will meet the man who betrayed him and the woman he loved and lost in the fires of rebellion--and uncover a secret so shocking that it will shake to its core the land he loves.
With stunning period detail and crackling suspense, Eye of the Red Tsar introduces a complex and compelling investigator in a fiercely intelligent thriller perfect for readers of "Gorky Park, Child 44," and "City of Thieves."

"From the Hardcover edition."

WRITE A REVIEW

Martin Cruz Smith eat your heart out!

5

Brilliant read. Have read all three and can't wait for more. If you liked Gorky park you will love these even more.

Darwin. N.T.

true

Eye of the Red Tsar

5.0 1

100.0

"In the tradition of Martin Cruz Smith and Tom Rob Smith, Sam Eastland pulls us into the culture and politics of Mother Russia. . . . Highly imaginative [and] exciting."--USA Today "A fantastic premise, frenetic action sequences and a stellar setting would all set apart this debut novel by [Sam] Eastland. . . . What elevates this Russian period thriller . . . is its mad, brilliant hero."--Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A riveting historical thriller with a fascinating protagonist . . . a smart, assured, impeccably researched page-turner."--David Liss, author of The Devil's Company

"A triumph! With a canny eye for detail, Eastland re-creates the tragedy of the Romanov dynasty in this intelligent and relentless thriller."--David Hewson, author of City of Fear

"Gripping and memorable . . . Fans of Russian thrillers (Tom Rob Smith's Child 44, Martin Cruz Smith's Gorky Park, and David Benioff's City of Thieves) will want this."--Library Journal

"A terrific debut . . . Eastland's weaving of fact and fiction, of real and invented characters, is brilliantly achieved."--The Times (London)

ISBN: 9780553593235
ISBN-10: 0553593234
Series: Inspector Pekkala
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 294
Published: 25th January 2011
Publisher: Bantam
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.32 x 12.7  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.22

This product is categorised by