+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Everyone Lies : Di Kate Simms - A. D Garrett

Everyone Lies

Di Kate Simms

Paperback Published: 7th November 2013
ISBN: 9781472107572
Number Of Pages: 480

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 15 business days

Earn 40 Qantas Points
on this Book

Everyone Lies teams science, forensics and plot in a fast-paced action crime thriller, thanks to the skills of the two authors that form the writing partnership A. D. Garrett.

DI Kate Simms is on the fast track to nowhere. Five years ago she helped a colleague when she shouldn't have. She's been clawing her way back from a demotion ever since. Professor Nick Fennimore is a failed genetics student, successful gambler, betting agent, crime scene officer, chemistry graduate, toxicology specialist and one-time scientific advisor to the National Crime Faculty. He is the best there is, but ever since his wife and daughter disappeared he's been hiding away in Scotland, working as a forensics lecturer.

In Manchester, drug addicts are turning up dead and Simms' superior is only too pleased to hand the problem to her. Then a celebrity dies and the media gets interested. Another overdose victim shows up, but this time the woman has been systematically beaten and all identifying features removed. The evidence doesn't add up; Simms' superiors seem to be obstructing her investigation; and the one person she can't afford to associate with is the one man who can help: Fennimore.

About the Author

A. D. Garrett is the pseudonym for the writing collaboration of prize-winning thriller writer Margaret Murphy and forensic scientist Professor Dave Barclay. Margaret Murphy is the author of nine psychological thrillers. She lectures on writing and is a former Royal Literary Fund Writing Fellow. She is founder of Murder Squad, a touring collective of crime writers, and was Chair of the Crime Writers' Association in 2009-10. Professor Barclay holds two university posts and is a forensic adviser to the police forces and the media. He was Head of Physical Evidence at the UK National Crime and Operations Faculty for 10 years. He is currently working for several UK police forces and a state of Australia on high profile murders. He is part of the 'Murder, Mystery and Microscopes' team which aims to explain the real science behind popular crime fiction via a national series of public lectures. Everyone Lies is their first collaboration.

Industry Reviews

This is thriller writing at its best: prose that's startling in its pace and clarity, characters who come to life immediately and the bonus of knowing that all the forensic details are entirely accurate.

A throat-clutcher from page one. Everyone Lies is a pulse pounding thriller, which weaves expertly between evil on the streets and the dark side of police department politics. A. D. Garrett has done for Manchester what The Wire did for Baltimore. And our central characters, Simms and Fennimore, are complex, compelling and just plain marvellous.

Awesome...What A. D. Garrett doesn't understand about forensic science and its applications isn't worth knowing. Ditto characterisation, plot and pace. A sterling debut.

A collaboration between a thriller writer and a forensic scientist produces a police procedural which promises well for the future of the partnership and provides a good read. - Bookbag

A marriage made in crime fiction heaven. - CrimeFictionLover

[An] outstanding collaborative debut, which balances the intricacies of forensics with the cerebral instincts of crime investigation. . . . The brisk plot never strays with its complex exploration of prostitutes and crime lords and its affecting look at Kate and Nick s complicated relationship. - Publishers Weekly

'The backstory between Fennimore and Simms is tantalizingly glossed over, adding tension to the story, as readers attempt to work out the tension between the characters. This gritty British thriller will appeal to fans of Ken Bruen and Val McDermid. - Booklist

The pseudonymous pair who write as Garrett skillfully weave just enough of the crime-solving partners past and hints about a more hopeful future to add even more suspense to the fast-paced plot. - Kirkus Reviews

ISBN: 9781472107572
ISBN-10: 1472107578
Series: Di Kate Simms
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 480
Published: 7th November 2013
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 19.6 x 13.0  x 3.1
Weight (kg): 0.39
Edition Number: 1

Earn 40 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by