Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead - Emily Austin

Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead

By: Emily Austin

Paperback | 3 August 2021

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Fans of Exciting Times and Convenience Store Woman will devour this funny and original literary debut about the unintentional consequences of anxiety and the relentless pressures of modern life, starring the most unforgettable literary creation since Eleanor Oliphant and Fleabag.

'The perfect blend of macabre and funny' - Buzzfeed, Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Meet Gilda. She cannot stop thinking about death. Desperate for relief from her anxious mind and alienated from her repressive family, she responds to a flyer for free therapy at a local church and finds herself abruptly hired to replace the deceased receptionist Grace. It's not the most obvious job - she's queer and an atheist for starters - and so in between trying to learn mass, hiding her new maybe-girlfriend and conducting an amateur investigation into Grace's death, Gilda must avoid revealing the truth of her mortifying existence.

A blend of warmth, deadpan humour, and pitch-perfect observations about the human condition, Everyone in This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a crackling exploration of what it takes to stay afloat in a world where your expiration - and the expiration of those you love - is the only certainty.

About the Author

Emily Austin was born in Ontario, Canada. She studied English literature and library science at Western University. She currently lives in Ottawa.
Industry Reviews
"""Introducing the bumbling, anxious, helplessly kindhearted heroine we all need right now. Gilda might be an accidental Catholic, a lapsed lesbian, and an inept receptionist, but she's awfully good at helping us reckon - hilariously, tenderly - with our impending deaths."" - Courtney Maum, author of I Am Having So Much Fun Here Without You

""As a queer woman whose brain can be a terrifying place, I devoured this novel about a panic-ridden lesbian who hides her sexuality to work at a Catholic Church. While the narrator is anxious beyond measure, the prose is self-assured - brisk and effortless, moving through time and space with ease. At its core, the novel is about the fragility of human life, kept fresh with an intriguing mystery and subtle moments of tenderness. Everyone In This Room Will Someday Be Dead is a dreary truth but a delightful read."" - Anna Dorn, author of Vagablonde

""Everyone in this book will touch your heart. Austin's writing is spare yet exciting, each page sparkles with keen observation about the fleeting nature of life, yes, but also our profound ability to make lasting impact on those around us. I already can't wait to read what she writes next."" - Steven Rowley, New York Times bestselling author of The Editor

""Anxious death-obsessed lesbians unite! I cackled and cringed in recognition while following the exploits of Gilda, who is plagued by intrusive thoughts about death and the absurdity of the human condition. Emily Austin is a unique and wry writer, and her debut novel manages to be both hilarious and profound, a winning combination."" - Celia Laskey, author of Under the Rainbow

""The perfect blend of macabre and funny."" - Buzzfeed

""There's some strange magic at play here. A book about the anxiety of being someone else that possesses a genuine warmth and comfort? A book about death and depression that's laugh-out-loud funny? A book written in straightforward unadorned prose that nonetheless feels entirely distinctive? I don't know how Emily Austin does what she does, and honestly I don't care. I just want more."" - Sean Adams, author of The Heap




"

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

Pheasants Nest - Louise Milligan

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Work - Bri Lee

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$27.25

17%
OFF
My Favourite Mistake - Marian Keyes

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Our Holiday - Louise Candlish

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Forgotten - Casey Nott

Paperback

RRP $28.95

$27.50

Lies and Weddings - Kevin Kwan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Lyrebird Lake Ladies Choir - Sandie Docker

RRP $34.99

$31.75

I Hope This Finds You Well - Natalie Sue

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Hurdy Gurdy - Jenny Ackland

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Parade - Rachel Cusk

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Little Clothes - Deborah Callaghan

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Boy Swallows Universe - Trent Dalton

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Never Let Me Go - Kazuo Ishiguro

RRP $24.99

$23.75

Ugly Love : A Novel - Colleen Hoover

RRP $22.99

$21.90

Empire Of The Vampire : Empire Of The Vampire - Jay Kristoff