+612 9045 4394
England, My England and Other Stories : London Mathematical Society Lecture Notes - D. H. Lawrence

England, My England and Other Stories

London Mathematical Society Lecture Notes

By: D. H. Lawrence, Bruce Steele (Editor), James T. Boulton (Editor), Michael Black (Editor), Lindeth Vasey (Editor)

Paperback Published: 30th April 1990
ISBN: 9780521358149
Number Of Pages: 340

Share This Book:


Ships in 10 to 15 business days

The fourteen short stories collected in this volume were written between 1913 and 1921, most of them against the background of the 1914-18 War. All but one were published in slightly different versions by magazines and periodicals on both sides of the Atlantic. Ten were selected and revised by Lawrence for his collection England, My England published in 1922 in the United States and 1924 in Britain. Some of the stories included in this volume are "Tickets Please," "The Blind Man," "Monkey Nuts," "Wintry Peacock," "Hadrian," "Samson and Delilah," "The Primrose Path," "The Horse-Dealer's Daughter," and "The Last Straw." The texts aim to recover Lawrence's own intentions, which editors and publishers all too frequently ignored or altered. Where possible, manuscripts and corrected typescripts are used as base-texts. The introduction traces the composition and revision of the stories, setting them in the context of Lawrence's life and work. The textual apparatus gives variant readings, and explanatory notes identify sources, references and quotations. The 1915 version of "England, My England" is given in an appendix.

General editor+s preface
England, My England and Other Stories
Uncollected Stories, 1913+1922
Explanatory notes
Textual apparatus
Table of Contents provided by Publisher. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780521358149
ISBN-10: 0521358140
Series: London Mathematical Society Lecture Notes
Audience: Professional
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 340
Published: 30th April 1990
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.0 x 15.8  x 2.18
Weight (kg): 0.45