+612 9045 4394
Emily Climbs : Emily Series : Book 2 - L. M. Montgomery

Emily Climbs

Emily Series : Book 2

Paperback Published: 1st May 1983
ISBN: 9780553262148
Number Of Pages: 336
For Ages: 8 - 12 years old

Share This Book:
Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Emily Starr was born with the desire to write. As an orphan living on New Moon Farm, writing helped her face the difficult, lonely times. But now all her friends are going away to high school in nearby Shrewsbury, and her old-fashioned, tyrannical aunt Elizabeth will only let her go if she promises to stop writing! All the same, this is the first step in Emily's climb to success. Once in town, Emily's activities set the Shrewsbury gossips buzzing. When Emily has her poems published and writes for the town newspaper, success seems to be on its way—and with it the first whispers of romance.

About the Author

L. M. Montgomery was born in Clifton, Prince Edward Island, in 1874. A prolific writer, she published many short stories, poems and novels but she is best known for Anne of Green Gables and its sequels, inspired by the years she spent on the beautiful Prince Edward Island. Montgomery died in Toronto in 1942 and was buried in Cavendish on her beloved island.

Writing Herself Outp. 9
Salad Daysp. 22
In the Watches of the Nightp. 43
"As Ithers See Us"p. 65
Half a Loafp. 82
Shrewsbury Beginningsp. 91
Pot-Pourrip. 103
Not Provenp. 120
A Supreme Momentp. 135
The Madness of an Hourp. 141
Heights and Hollowsp. 158
At the Sign of the Haystackp. 171
Havenp. 182
The Woman Who Spanked the Kingp. 195
"The Thing That Couldn't"p. 203
Driftwoodp. 212
"If a Body Kiss a Body"p. 229
Circumstantial Evidencep. 239
"Airy Voices"p. 248
In the Old John Housep. 266
Thicker Than Waterp. 276
"Love Me, Love My Dog"p. 289
An Open Doorp. 301
A Valley of Visionp. 307
April Lovep. 318
Afterwordp. 331
Table of Contents provided by Syndetics. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9780553262148
ISBN-10: 0553262149
Series: Emily Novels
Audience: General
For Ages: 8 - 12 years old
For Grades: 3 - 7
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 336
Published: 1st May 1983
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 17.4 x 11.0  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.17
Edition Number: 1

Lucy Maud Montgomery

About the Author

Lucy Maud Montgomery, publicly known as L. M. Montgomery, was a Canadian author best known for a series of novels beginning with Anne of Green Gables, published in 1908. Anne of Green Gables was an immediate success. The central character, Anne, an orphaned girl, made Montgomery famous in her lifetime and gave her an international following.[1] The first novel was followed by a series of sequels with Anne as the central character. Montgomery went on to publish 20 novels as well as 530 short stories, 500 poems, and 30 essays. Most of the novels were set on Prince Edward Island, Canada, and places in the Canadian province became literary landmarks.

Visit Lucy Maud Montgomery's Booktopia Author Page

Read More