+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Emergency Contact - Mary H. K. Choi

Emergency Contact

Paperback Available: 1st January 2019
ISBN: 9781534425934
Number Of Pages: 400
For Ages: 13 - 17 years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

Pre-order. Will ship when available.

“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell

From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a café and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him.

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.

* "Choi sensitively shows the evolution of two lonely, complicated people who slowly emerge from their shells to risk an intimate relationship. Her sharp wit and skillful character development...ensure that readers will feel that they know Penny and Sam inside and out before the gratifying conclusion." -- Publisher's Weekly - starred review * January 1, 2018 *
"Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book."
-- Rainbow Rowell, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Fangirl

ISBN: 9781534425934
ISBN-10: 1534425934
Audience: Teenager / Young Adult
For Ages: 13 - 17 years old
For Grades: 8 - 12
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Available: 1st January 2019
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.0 x 13.0  x 2.6
Weight (kg): 0.3