+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Eliza And Her Monsters - Francesca Zappia

Hardcover Published: 22nd May 2017
ISBN: 9780062290137
Number Of Pages: 400
For Ages: 14+ years old

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Hardcover

RRP $34.99
$24.75
29%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 50 Qantas Points
on this Book

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 7th May 2019
    In Stock
    $16.40

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld's Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza's persona is popular. Eliza can't imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza's secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she's built-her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity-begins to fall apart.

With pages from Eliza's webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza's online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson's Nimona and Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl.

About the Author

Francesca Zappia lives in central Indiana and majors in computer science at the University of Indianapolis. She spends most of her time writing, drawing her characters, and reading. Made You Up is her debut novel.

Industry Reviews

"A love letter to fandom, friendship, and the stories that shape us, Eliza and Her Monsters is absolutely magical." -- Marieke Nijkamp, New York Times bestselling author of This Is Where It Ends
"Creator of an astonishingly successful webcomic...Eliza finds her voice. A wrenching depiction of depression and anxiety, respectful to fandom, online-only friendship, and the benefits and dangers of internet fame." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"In her sophomore novel, Zappia gracefully examines Eliza's complicated struggle with anxiety, depression...peppered with detailed illustrations from Eliza's webcomic, drawn by Zappia herself. A fervent celebration of online fandom." -- Booklist (starred review)
"Told in a series of letters, instant messages, comics, and prose, this book focuses on relationships and identity. ...will resonate with teens who write, create art, and love fandom. ...A must-have for all YA collections, especially where geek culture is celebrated." -- School Library Journal (starred review)
"We've seen variants on this premise before, but Zappia uses it to focus on introversion and isolations, panic disorders, suicidal ideation, and a preferable online existence that offers more control...Readers involved in fandoms and those who wish to understand and think about their reach are the audience for this." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Zappia punctuates prose sections with Monstrous Sea artwork and online chats...she pointedly delves into the way fandoms can smother the creators they live. ...a compelling read on the labyrinths of imagination and the simple pleasures of ordinary life." -- Shelf Awareness

Absolutely beautiful story with a Mental Health focus

5

Truly beautiful book that would be very relatable to young people who find more comfort with their internet friends than school peers. Great focus on mental health with discussions of anxiety, depression and suicide - but safe messaging. Not glorified! Messages of hope and recovery.

Queensland

true

Eliza And Her Monsters

5.0 1

100.0

ISBN: 9780062290137
ISBN-10: 0062290134
Audience: Children
For Ages: 14+ years old
For Grades: 7 - 9
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 22nd May 2017
Publisher: GREENWILLOW
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 21.7 x 14.2  x 3.6
Weight (kg): 0.57

Earn 50 Qantas Points
on this Book