+612 9045 4394
Edwardian Poetry : Oxford English Monographs - Kenneth Millard

Edwardian Poetry

Oxford English Monographs

Hardcover Published: 7th November 1991
ISBN: 9780198122258
Number Of Pages: 208

Share This Book:


RRP $209.95
or 4 easy payments of $32.69 with Learn more
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

The poets writing in the first years of the twentieth century have commonly been discussed in isolation. In Edwardian Poetry, Kenneth Millard considers together seven poets--Henry Newbolt, John Masefield, Thomas Hardy, Edward Thomas, A.E. Housman, John Davidson, and Rupert Brooke--and argues that their work is worthy of more serious critical attention than it has previously received. Through an analysis of numerous individual poems, Millard isolates certain common concerns: the changing and perhaps fading value of the idea of England, a distrust of the medium of language itself, and a distrust also of the creative imagination. In its reassessment of these poets, the book provides a literary context for their work, finding in it a kind of pre-war modern British poetry distinct from the Modernism of subsequent decades. In establishing a literary context for the poetry of this century's first decade, the book offers an important revision of modern literary history and points towards an alternative line in twentieth-century British poetry that culminates in the work of Philip Larkin.

Industry Reviews

`Millard does pay attention to biographical data, and he has a good deal to say about the relationship between a specific set of historical facts and the development of a particular poem. He is also a sensitive reader, and his glosses are convincing ...' Harold Orel, The Thomas Hardy Journal

ISBN: 9780198122258
ISBN-10: 019812225X
Series: Oxford English Monographs
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 208
Published: 7th November 1991
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.1 x 14.73  x 2.03
Weight (kg): 0.44