+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Eden Gardens - Louise Brown

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

Share This Book:

British India. The heart of Calcutta. Two women searching for freedom.

For fans of Dinah Jeffries and Victoria Hislop.


Calcutta, the 1940s. In a ramshackle house, streets away from the grand colonial mansions of the British, live Maisy, her Mam and their ayah, Pushpa.

Whiskey-fuelled and poverty-stricken, Mam entertains officers in the night - a disgrace to British India. All hopes are on beautiful Maisy to restore their good fortune.

But Maisy's more at home in the city's forbidden alleyways, eating bazaar food and speaking Bengali with Pushpa, than dancing in glittering ballrooms with potential husbands.

Then one day Maisy's tutor falls ill. His son stands in. Poetic, handsome and ambitious for an independent India, Sunil Banerjee promises Maisy the world.

So begins a love affair that will cast her future, for better and for worse. Just as the Second World War strikes and the empire begins to crumble...

This is the other side of British India. A dizzying, scandalous, dangerous world, where race, class and gender divide and rule.

About the Author

Louise Brown has lived in Nepal and travelled extensively in India, sparking her enduring love of South Asia. She was a Senior Lecturer in Sociology and Asian Studies at the University of Birmingham, where she worked for nearly twenty years. In research for her critically acclaimed non-fiction books she's witnessed revolutions and even stayed in a Lahore brothel with a family of traditional courtesans. Eden Gardens is her debut novel. Louise has three grown-up children and lives in Birmingham.

Industry Reviews

Faithfully researched, colourfully rendered... a vivid and compelling read * Sunday Irish Independent *

ISBN: 9781472226099
ISBN-10: 1472226097
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 352
Published: 8th December 2015
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.1 x 15.3  x 2.7
Weight (kg): 0.46
Edition Number: 1

This product is categorised by