+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
The Love That I Have - James Moloney

The Love That I Have

eBook

Published: 1st June 2018
Format: ePUB
$2.99
    Good For
  • IOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • PC & Mac (Adobe Digital Editions)
  • Kobo / Sony / eReaders
    Not supported
  • Amazon Kindle
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Adobe Overdrive
    Features
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • Reproducing or Printing Pages

Other Available Formats (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 21st May 2018
    In Stock. Ships from Australia today or next business day
    $22.35

'WINTER CALLS FOR A GOOD BOOK, AND WE'VE FOUND ONE TO RIVAL THE BOOK THIEF'

-- The Australian Women's Weekly

Margot Baumann hasleft school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. Butthis is Germany in 1944, and the prison is Sachsenhausen concentration campnear Berlin.

Margot is shielded fromthe camp's brutality as she has no contact with prisoners. But shedoes handle their mail and, when given a cigarette lighter and told to burn theletters, she is horrified by the callous act she must carry out with her ownhands. This is especially painful since her brother was taken prisoner atStalingrad and her family have had no letters from him. So Margot steals a fewletters, intending to send them in secret, only to find herself drawn to theirheart-rending words of hope, of despair, and of love.

This is how Margot comesto know Dieter Kleinschmidt - through the beauty and the passion of his lettersto his girlfriend.

And since his girlfriendis also named Margot, it is like reading love letters written for her.

From award-winning Australian author James Moloney, comes a fresh and compelling story about love, loss and profound bravery. For fans of The Book Thief, this powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 stays with you long after the final page is read.



MORE PRAISE FOR THE LOVE THAT I HAVE:

'a beautiful, heartbreaking and affecting read. ... Definitely one for book club, just don't forget the tissues.' -- The Australian Women's Weekly

'a heartbreaking, harrowing and deeply hopeful story ... for readers of The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas' -- Books+Publishing

'A compelling and emotionally charged story of young love and survival, bravery and humanity. The closing months of the Second World War in Germany are seen from a surprising and fresh perspective. I was holding back tears from page 72.' -- Shona Martyn, Spectrum Editor, The Sydney Morning Herald

'
a profoundly hopeful and humanity-affirming novel, portraying the equalising power that compassion has above all injustice. This is a novel for people who enjoyed The Book Thief, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas, All the Light We Cannot See, and more recently, The Tattooist of Auschwitz.' -- Better Reading

ISBN: 9781460709054
ISBN-10: 1460709055
Audience: General
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 304
Published: 1st June 2018