+612 9045 4394
The Enlightened Heart : An Anthology of Sacred Poetry - Stephen Mitchell

The Enlightened Heart

An Anthology of Sacred Poetry

eBook Published: 25th January 2011
ISBN: 9780062041524
    Good For
  • iOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • eReaders, Kobo, PC, Mac (requires Adobe Digital Editions)
    Not supported
  • Kindle or iBooks
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Overdrive
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • DRM Protected
  • Printing, Copying or Reproducing Pages
Share This eBook:

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 1st September 1993

An anthology of poetry chosen from the world's great religious and literary traditions--the perfect companion to the bestselling Tao Te Ching.

• The Upanishads • The Book of Psalms • Lao-tzu • The Bhagavad Gita • Chuang-tzu • The Odes of Solomon • Seng-ts'an • Han-shan • Li Po • Tu Fu • Layman P'ang • Kukai • Tung-shan • Symeon the New Theologian • Izumi Shikibu • Su Tung-p'o • Hildegard of Bingen • Francis of Assisi • Wu-men • Dõgen • Rumi • Mechthild of Magdeburg • Dante • Kabir Mirabai • William Shakespeare • George Herbert • Bunan • Gensei • Angelus Silesius • Thomas Traherne • Basho • William Blake • Ryõkan • Issa • Ghalib • Bibi Hayati • Wait Whitman • Emily Dickinson • Gerard Manley Hopkins • Uvavnuk • Anonymous Navaho • W. B. Yeats • Antonio Machado • Rainer Maria Rilke • Wallace Stevens • D.H. Lawrence • Robinson Jeffers •

Foreword -- The golden god, the self, the immortal swan -- Two birds, one of them mortal, the other immortal -- Psalm I -- Psalm 19 -- Psalm 104 -- Psalm 131 -- The tao that can be told -- Every being in the universe -- The ancient masters were profound and subtle -- Empty your mind of all thoughts -- A good traveler has no fixed plans -- Some say that my teaching is nonsense -- "Those who realise true wisdom" -- Cutting up an ox -- My heart was split, and a flower -- The mind of absolute trust -- Clambering up the cold mountain path -- My home was at cold mountain from the start -- You ask why I make my home in the mountain forest -- The birds have vanished into the sky -- Written on the wall at chang's hermitage -- When the mind is at peace -- My daily affairs are quite ordinary -- Singing image of fire -- If you look for the truth outside yourself -- We awaken in christs body -- Watching the moon -- The roaring waterfall -- Holy spirit -- Canticle of the sun -- Oneinstant is eeternity -- The great way has no gate -- Ten thousand flowers in spring -- Moon and clouds are the same -- On the treasury of the true dharma eye -- On non dependence of mind -- Don't grieve anything you lose comes round -- Morning -- When grapes turn -- Totally conscious -- I have lived on the lip -- Forget your life say god is great get up -- All day and all night music -- You are the notes and we are the flute -- Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing -- The drunkards are rolling in slowly -- Outside the freezing desert night -- When it's cold and raining -- Praise to the emptiness -- A fish cannot drown in water -- Effortlessly -- Of all that god has shown me -- This mountain of release is such that he -- The love of god -- But you are so happy here -- Between the conscious and unconscious -- Inside this clay jar -- Are you looking for me -- My friend, his body is his lute -- I have been thinking of the differenc between water -- Swan tell me your old story -- Student do the simple purefication

ISBN: 9780062041524
ISBN-10: 0062041525
Audience: General
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 192
Published: 25th January 2011
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Australia