+612 9045 4394
Stolen Innocence : My Story of Growing Up in a Polygamous Sect, Becoming a Teenage Bride, and Breaking Free of Warren Jeffs - Elissa Wall

Stolen Innocence

My Story of Growing Up in a Polygamous Sect, Becoming a Teenage Bride, and Breaking Free of Warren Jeffs

Unfortunately this eBook is only available from within Australia.

    Good For
  • IOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • PC & Mac (Adobe Digital Editions)
  • Kobo / Sony / eReaders
    Not supported
  • Amazon Kindle
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Adobe Overdrive
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • Reproducing or Printing Pages

Other Available Formats (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 24th February 2009
    In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia

In September 2007, a packed courtroom in St. George, Utah, sat hushed as Elissa Wall, the star witness against polygamous sect leader Warren Jeffs, gave captivating testimony of how Jeffs forced her to marry her first cousin at age fourteen. This harrowing and vivid account proved to be the most compelling evidence against Jeffs, showing the harsh realities of this closed community and the lengths that Jeffs went to in order to control the women in it. Now, in this courageous memoir, Elissa Wall tells her incredible and inspirational story of her time in the Fundamentalist Church of Latter Day Saints (FLDS), detailing how she emerged from its confines to help bring one of America's most notorious criminals to justice.

“Wall’s story couldn’t be more timely. Her descriptions of the polygamous sect’s rigidity are shocking, but what’s most fascinating is the immensely likeable author’s struggle to reconcile her longing for happiness with her terror of it’s consequences.”

Prologue -- Part 1:. 1: New mother -- 2: Growing up and keeping sweet -- 3: Good priesthood children -- 4: In light and truth -- 5: Rise of Warren -- 6: Out of control -- 7: Reassignment -- 8: Preparing for Zion -- 9: Revelation is made -- 10: Celestial law -- 11: Word of the prophet -- 12: Man and wife -- 13: All alone -- Part 2:. 14: Survival begins -- 15: Destruction is upon us -- 16: Death comes to short creek -- 17: False prophet -- 18: Refuge in Canada -- 19: Nowhere to run -- 20: Pair of headlights -- 21: Promise not to tell -- 22: Story like mine -- 23: Love at last -- 24: Choosing my future -- Part 3:. 25: New beginnings -- 26: Coming forward -- 27: Captured -- 28: Facing Warren -- 29: Trial begins -- 30: End is in sight -- 31: I am free -- Epilogue -- Author's note -- Acknowledgments.

ISBN: 9780061752841
ISBN-10: 0061752843
Audience: General
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 464
Published: 13th October 2009
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Australia