+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Randomistas : How Radical Researchers Changed Our World - Andrew Leigh

Randomistas

How Radical Researchers Changed Our World

eBook Published: 1st March 2018
ISBN: 9781743820278
    Good For
  • iOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • eReaders, Kobo, PC, Mac (requires Adobe Digital Editions)
    Not supported
  • Kindle or iBooks
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Overdrive
    Features
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • DRM Protected
  • Printing, Copying or Reproducing Pages
Share This eBook:

eBook

InstantDownload

Other Available Editions (Hide)

  • Paperback View Product Published: 1st March 2018
    In Stock
    $23.75

Across medicine, business and government, there's no simpler or more powerful tool for finding out what works than a randomised experiment. Investigating everything from jails to ad campaigns, philanthropy to schools, the randomistas are building evidence and busting myths.

Randomised tests are carried out on us every day: by supermarkets, search engines, online dating sites and direct marketers. Political parties use randomised trials to win elections. But how do these tests work? Are there any ethical issues? And what do they reveal about our choices?

In Randomistas, Andrew Leigh tells the stories of radical researchers who overturned conventional wisdom in medicine, politics, economics, law enforcement and more. From finding the cure to scurvy to discovering what policies really improve literacy rates, randomistas have shaped life as we know it - but they often had to fight to conduct their trials and have their findings implemented.

In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell, Randomistas is a brilliant and entertaining exploration of a hidden but vital foundation of modern life.

'The subject of this book could hardly be more vital: are we humble enough to admit we may be wrong, and do we care enough to learn? Randomistas is rigorous, impassioned and tremendous fun. Everyone should read it.' -Tim Harford, author of The Undercover Economist and Fifty Things That Made The Modern Economy

'Randomistas is a tour de force - an engaging, passionate, how-to account of randomised experiments. After reading Leigh's book, you'll be baffled at the many businesses and governments yet to catch on. Fortunately, Leigh also offers a simple guide that anyone can follow. If the next generation of policymakers follows his advice - and let's hope they do - this book will literally change the world.' -David Halpern, head of the UK's Behavioural Insights Team, author of Inside the Nudge Unit

'Randomistas takes the reader on a great journey about how data and experiments can make the world a better place, one policy at a time.' -Dean Karlan, professor of economics at Yale

Andrew Leigh is the federal member for Fraser and the Shadow Assistant Treasurer. Before being elected in 2010, he was a professor of economics at the Australian National University. His books include Disconnected (2010), Battlers and Billionaires (2013) and The Economics of Just About Everything (2014).

ISBN: 9781743820278
ISBN-10: 1743820275
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 256
Published: 1st March 2018
Publisher: Schwartz Publishing Pty. Ltd

This product is categorised by