+612 9045 4394
Mississippi Politics :  The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 - Jere Nash

Mississippi Politics

The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006


Published: 8th September 2009
Format: ePUB
    Good For
  • IOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • PC & Mac (Adobe Digital Editions)
  • Kobo / Sony / eReaders
    Not supported
  • Amazon Kindle
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Adobe Overdrive
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • Reproducing or Printing Pages

Other Available Formats (Hide)

  • Hardcover View Product Published: 28th September 2009

In 1890, white Democrats consolidated their political power in Mississippi. For more than seventy years, the state was a Democratic stronghold in which Republicans and African Americans had little political clout. The elections of 1976, however, marked the last time Mississippi would cast its presidential electoral votes for a Democrat. That year, the state's Democratic lineup included the governor, both United States senators and three representatives, and all but five seats in the state legislature.

Thirty years later, Republican Haley Barbour is the state governor, four of the seven statewide elected officials are Republicans, both United States Senators are Republicans, and the GOP boasts 69 of the 174 members in the state legislature.

Mississippi Politics: The Struggle for Power, 1976-2006 charts the political shift in Mississippi over the last thirty years, covering political campaigns and the struggle for power within the state legislature. Fierce debates about the tobacco industry, casinos, tort reform, education, and highways are all examined. Authors Jere Nash and Andy Taggart--political activists from different parties--examine forty years of reapportionment litigation and profile many of the personalities who changed the Mississippi political landscape. The book features interviews with more than 140 public officials, candidates, lobbyists, legislators, and others who reveal the public and backroom pressures that shaped history. A sharply detailed account of a major transition with national implications, Mississippi Politics describes how the state has evolved politically and where it may possibly be headed.

Jere Nash is a consultant whose positions have included executive director of Mississippi First, deputy state auditor, and director of policy and chief of staff for Governor Ray Mabus. Andy Taggart has his own law firm and has served as executive director of the Mississippi Republican Party, chief of staff for Governor Kirk Fordice, and president/CEO of the Mississippi Technology Alliance. John Grisham is the author of eighteen novels and lives in Virginia and Mississippi.

History of Mississippi Democrats, 1948-1975p. 11
History of Mississippi Republicans, 1955-1975p. 34
The beginning of the end, 1976p. 55
The campaign to succeed Jim Eastland, 1977-1978p. 74
Democrats win one and Republicans lose one, 1979p. 86
The origins of reapportionment, 1890-1979p. 95
Ronald Reagan and Jon Hinson, 1980-1981p. 115
Education transforms the legislature, 1982p. 129
The Allain/Bramlett campaign and William Winter's legacy, 1983p. 151
The erosion of legislative power, 1984p. 163
The rise of Mike Espy, 1985-1986p. 173
Highways, Buddie Newman, and Ray Mabus, 1987p. 186
The campaign to succeed John Stennis, 1988p. 200
Liquor and gambling in Mississippi, 1989-1990p. 211
Republicans gain the governor's mansion, 1991p. 223
The politics of reapportionment, 1992-1993p. 235
The GOP consolidates power, 1994-1996p. 247
Tobacco, 1997-1998p. 259
The legacy of Kirk Fordice, 1999p. 270
The state flag and congressional reapportionment, 2000-2001p. 279
The consequences of tort reform, 2002p. 289
The Haley Barbour years, 2003-2006p. 303
Table of Contents provided by Blackwell. All Rights Reserved.

ISBN: 9781578069071
ISBN-10: 1578069076
Audience: Professional
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 432
Published: 8th September 2009
Publisher: University Press of Mississippi