+612 9045 4394
Farewell, Titanic : Her Final Legacy - Charles Pellegrino

Farewell, Titanic

Her Final Legacy


Published: 20th January 2012
Format: ePUB
RRP $38.45
    Good For
  • IOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • PC & Mac (Adobe Digital Editions)
  • Kobo / Sony / eReaders
    Not supported
  • Amazon Kindle
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Adobe Overdrive
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • Reproducing or Printing Pages

Other Available Formats (Hide)

On the 100th anniversary of the Titanic's sinking, a prominent Titanic researcher offers a final chance to see the ship before it disappears forever

The Titanic was the biggest, most luxurious passenger ship the world had ever seen; the ads proclaimed it to be unsinkable. When it sank in April 1912 after hitting an iceberg, killing more than 1,500 people, the world was forever changed and the public has been spellbound ever since. Now, a century later, the Titanic is about to disappear again: its infrastructure is set to collapse in the next few years. In this book, scientist Charles Pellegrino offers what may be the last opportunity to see the ship before it is lost to the seas for eternity. The last book to be written while survivors were still alive and able to contribute details, Farewell, Titanic includes many untold stories about the sinking and exploration of the unsinkable ship.

  • Author Charles Pellegrino provided source material for James Cameron's Oscar-winning Titanic film, which is being re-released in 3D at the same time as the book
  • Includes 16 pages of never-before-published full-color photographs of the sunken vessel
  • Includes all-new information about the Titanic research that has been carried out in the last decade
  • Written by a New York Times bestselling author who participated in the post-discovery analysis of the Titanic's remains during the expedition that immediately followed Robert Ballard's Titanic discovery in 1985

Foreword by Tom Dettweiler ix

Preface xiii

Acknowledgments xvii

1. Convergence 1

2. Far from Okay 12

3. A Slight Trepidation 20

4. Night of the Lightning Dolphins 32

5. Trinity 38

6. Of Nature, Not above It 51

7. The Cascade Point 58

8. Everything Was against Us 72

9. Stalking the Nightmare 76

10. Points of Departure 86

11. The Geometry of Shadows 99

12. How Much Does Darkness Weigh? 112

13. The 46th Psalm 115

14. The Truth about William Murdoch 127

15. To Dream on the Ship of Sorrows 133

16. Falling Stars 140

17. Movements of Fire and Ice 149

18. Frailty 152

19. A Crevice in Time 169

20. Dark Circle 179

21. Explorers, Graves, and Lovers 193

22. Terminal Velocity 213

23. Laying the Music to Rest 218

24. A Fury Scorned 225

25. Sleeping in Light 228

26. Coming Home to Shock Cocoons 231

27. The Long Night of Ellen Betty Phillips 234

28. The Thieving Magpies 241

29. Monsters Down There 245

30. Ghosts of the Abyss 255

31. Persevering 261

32. Destination Unknown 264

Notes 282

Index 323

ISBN: 9781118191293
ISBN-10: 1118191293
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 320
Published: 20th January 2012
Publisher: John Wiley & Sons Australia