+612 9045 4394
1Q84 : Books 3 - Haruki Murakami

Unfortunately this eBook is only available from within Australia.

    Good For
  • IOS and Android Devices (Booktopia Reader app)
  • PC & Mac (Adobe Digital Editions)
  • Kobo / Sony / eReaders
    Not supported
  • Amazon Kindle
  • Windows Smart Phones
  • Adobe Overdrive
  • Resizeable Text
  • Flowing Text
  • Reproducing or Printing Pages

Other Available Formats (Hide)

At the close of Book Two of "1Q84", Aomame and Tengo found themselves in perilous situations, threatened and confused. As "1Q84" accelerates towards its conclusion, both are pursued by persons and forces they do not know and cannot understand. As they begin to decipher more about the strange world into which they have slipped, so they sense their destinies converging.

What they cannot know is whether they will find one another before they are themselves found. Inspired by George Orwell's "Nineteen Eighty-Four", "1Q84" is a magnificent and fully-imagined work of fiction - both a thriller and a moving love-story. It is a world from which the reader emerges stunned and altered.

Book Three of "1Q84" is the final volume of Murakami's magnum opus. In Japan, Books One and Two were published on the same day with Book 3 following a year later. All three books were received with huge excitement and became instant bestsellers.

The UK publication reflects the pattern of the original publication with Books One and Two being released in one volume and Book Three following in a separate edition.

About the Author

HARUKI MURAKAMI was born in Kyoto in 1949. He met his wife, Yoko, at university and they opened a jazz club in Tokyo called ‘Peter Cat’. The massive success of his novel NORWEGIAN WOOD (1987) made him a national celebrity. He fled Japan and did not return until 1995 when he came to regard the Kobe earthquake and the Tokyo gas attack as twin manifestations of a violence just beneath the surface of Japanese life.


A very different reading experience.


I found this book unusual in its style and enjoyed reading work from an author with a different world view. The Japanese perspective & inclusion of Western culture was interesting. I found it almost child-like in some ways but compelling, and followed through by reading all the trilogy in fairly quick time while on holidays.




4.0 1


"1Q84 has a range and sophistication that surpasses anything else in his oeuvre. It is his most achieved novel; an epic in which form and content are neatly aligned... So like Murakami himself, I'll borrow from Orwell: 1Q84 is quite simply doubleplusgood"

Haruki Murakami

Legend has it that on a warm day in Spring 1974 while watching a baseball game Murakami-san had the inspiration to write his first novel, later called Hear the Wind sing.

It won him his first Literary award and is part of The Trilogy of the Rat together with Pinball 1973 and A Wild Sheep Chase .

His career as an writer took off fast and a steady flow of Novels, Short Stories, Articles and Documentaries followed.

The fact that he spent a good part of his life outside Japan, mainly in the US and southern Europe, is maybe the key factor of his growing worldwide success.

The stories and settings are familiar to Westerners and yet there is a distinctive Japanese touch.

Visit Haruki Murakami's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9781446484203
ISBN-10: 1446484203
Series: 1Q84
Audience: General
Format: ePUB
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 464
Published: 25th October 2011
Publisher: Random House