+612 9045 4394
Joseph Andrews : A Lady's Secret - A Servant's Lust - A Lover's Betrayal - Peter Firth

Joseph Andrews

A Lady's Secret - A Servant's Lust - A Lover's Betrayal

Sorry, the DVD that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other DVDs with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

In Tony Richardson's stunning adaptation of Henry Fielding's classic novel the pure hearted Joseph (Peter Firth) is employed as a servant in the household of Sir Thomas Booby (Peter Bull) and in love with fair housemaid Fanny Goodwill (Natalie Ogle).

But he is plagued by the unwanted attentions of the copiously endowed Lady Booby (Ann Margaret) who becomes even more insistent after the death of her husband. After refusing his employer's impious advances Joseph is thrown out and before long his bad luck continues and he is beaten by a gang of highway men and left for dead.

He finally reunites with Parson Adams (Michael Hordern) and Fanny and the virtuous trio get into a surprising number of increasingly bizarre scrapes.

Meanwhile the insatiable Lady Booby scheming to ensure that the marriage of the young couple never occurs has Fanny framed and arrested for robbery.

Will Joseph and Fanny ever escapes the endless scandal and turmoil?.. will the chaste pair ever wed?

Approximate Running Time : 95 minutes

What a delightful romp!


Quite an old movie now, made about the same time as Tom Jones from another novel by Henry Fielding. Joseph Andrews is such a pretty young man all the ladies want him, including middle-aged Lady Booby. He needs all his wits to escape her attentions intact, and it's great fun going along for the ride. I could hardly believe what a pretty young man the actor Peter Firth was, long long before his days as Harry Pearce of Spooks fame.



Joseph Andrews

4.0 1


Audio: Dolby Digital 2.0 Stereo
Barcode: 5021456159567
Classification: M (Recommend for Mature Audiences )
Format: DVD
Language: English
Number of Discs: 1
Region: 4 (Australia & New Zealand)
Released: 11th May 2011
Running Time: 95 mins