Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Dreaming In French : The mysterious and romantic latest new novel from the popular author of THE BEAUTIFUL WORDS, for readers who love Joanne Harris, Lucinda Riley and Kate Morton - Vanessa McCausland

Dreaming In French

The mysterious and romantic latest new novel from the popular author of THE BEAUTIFUL WORDS, for readers who love Joanne Harris, Lucinda Riley and Kate Morton

By: Vanessa McCausland

Paperback | 5 July 2023

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%OFF

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
A remote French island. A crumbling villa. A reclusive film star. And an inheritance Saskia never expected. The stunning new novel from the critically acclaimed author of The Beautiful Words.

Saskia Wyle spent one sultry European summer on Île de Re when she was nineteen. The bright salt flats and sun-soaked beaches are now a distant memory, and one she made herself forget after an unspeakable tragedy.

But the French heiress she befriended over twenty years ago has left half of her magnificent home to Saskia and the other half to Felix Allard, the now-reclusive film star living on the island. How did Simone Durant die? Was it the family curse that haunted her? And why has she included Saskia in her will after all this time?

Saskia returns to the place of dry-stone walls and ancient olive trees to find that Simone has left her another unexpected gift - a manuscript written in French. Like the lyrical language embedded somewhere in Saskia's subconscious, she must find a way to understand what Simone is telling her. As Saskia once again falls under the island's spell, she must reckon with her past to save what is most precious to her.

About the Author

Vanessa studied English and Australian literature at the University of Sydney and dreamed of one day writing fiction. She then went on to immerse herself completely in writing about real people, working as a journalist for twenty years. Vanessa has been a news, medical, entertainment and arts reporter for the Daily Telegraph and her writing has appeared in numerous other publications. She's happy to now, finally, be creating fictional characters. She lives in Sydney with her husband and daughter.
Industry Reviews
'The book I've always dreamed of finding - magical prose, a glorious setting and a gripping storyline. Drift away to a gorgeous French island in the hands of an expert storyteller. McCausland has crafted a stunning novel - my only wish was that it never had to end!' - Natasha Lester

' Dreaming in French will whisk you away to the earthy pine forests and sun-baked salt marshes of Île de Re, and into an intoxicating story of friendship, love and unspeakable betrayal. This is a stunning, emotive tale and a captivating escape of a book.' - Hannah Richell

'A natural storyteller' - Herald Sun

'Reading a Vanessa McCausland book is like indulging in fine dark chocolate - her writing is decadent, dark, complex and luxurious' - Cassie Hamer

'Vanessa McCausland is a remarkable storyteller' - Petronella McGovern

'Entrancing with unexpected surprises' - Australian Women's Weekly

More in Modern & Contemporary Fiction

Blue Sisters : Our June Book of the Month - Coco Mellors

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Why Do Horses Run? - Cameron Stewart

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Caledonian Road - Andrew O'Hagan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Table For Two - Amor Towles

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Funny Story : The New 2024 novel from the author of Happy Place - Emily Henry
Praiseworthy : Winner of the 2024 Stella Prize - Alexis Wright

RRP $39.95

$31.75

21%
OFF
Boy Swallows Universe - Trent Dalton

RRP $22.99

$20.35

11%
OFF
The Last Devil To Die : The Thursday Murder Club 4 - Richard Osman
Yellowface : A Reese Witherspoon Book Club Pick - Rebecca Kuang

RRP $32.99

$26.95

18%
OFF
Good Material - Dolly Alderton

Paperback

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
The Cryptic Clue : A Tea Ladies Mystery - Amanda Hampson

RRP $34.99

$19.95

43%
OFF
Lies and Weddings - Kevin Kwan

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Kind of, Sort of, Maybe, But Probably Not - Imbi Neeme

RRP $34.99

$28.50

19%
OFF
Storm Child : Cyrus Haven : Book 4 - Michael Robotham

RRP $32.99

$19.95

40%
OFF
The Work : Our April Book of the Month - Bri Lee

RRP $32.99

$24.35

26%
OFF