+612 9045 4394
Dragonclaw : The Witches of Eileanan Series : Book 1 - Kate Forsyth


The Witches of Eileanan Series : Book 1

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, and found some results for you that may be helpful.

eBook View Product

Published: 2nd May 2011
Format: ePUB

A complex and gripping story of witches, enchantment, magical creatures and dragons. Dragonclaw Book One of the Witches of Eileanan

A complex and gripping story of witches, enchantment, magical creatures and dragons. Dragonclaw is Kate Forsyth's first novel.

Since the Day of Reckoning witches and magic have been outlawed on Eileanan. The great towers, once centres of learning, are now abandoned ruins. The penalty for practising witchcraft is death. Yet the lodestar still calls to the Righ, king of Eileanan, making him uneasy. And there are those determined restore witches and their craft to their rightful place in Eileanan.

In a hidden valley deep in the mountains, in the shadow of the peak of Dragonclaw, Isabeau the foundling grows to womanhood in the care of Meghan, an old wood witch. Meghan can call animals to her hand and knows the secrets of herb-lore. But Isabeau dreams of adventure ...

Carrying a magic talisman that contains the last hopes of the persecuted witches, Isabeau is hunted through the land by the evil Banrigh. Meanwhile the sea-dwelling Fairgean stir, children mysteriously disappear in the night, and Isabeau's guardian climbs Dragonclaw to seek guidance from the most ancient and dangerous wisdom in the land ...




i will be reading more of her books

perth wa


Witches, magic and adventure


Admittedly, it's been years since I last picked up this book, but it, and the following books in the series, are ones I have read multiple times and will eventually read again. Dragonclaw was given to me as a gift as a teenager. I instantly fell in love and soon hunted down the following instalments in the series. I think I've read Dragonclaw three times now, and even as an adult, I still love this book. It's one of the very first books that made me fall in love with epic fantasy stories and started a long insatiable thirst for magic and adventure. This is such a wonderfully written book, that has stuck with me over the years and I would recommend it to readers young and old.



The Best fantasy series by Kate Forsyth


Read this series when it first came out and loved it then. Have gone back to this series again just recently and have to say it is just as good now as it was then. Reliving all of of Isabeau's and even Finn the Cat's adventures has been a thrill fantasy ride all over again. This is the first series that set me off on my fantasy book reading journey as well as defining my interest in the Craft. I thank you so much Kate and look forward to catching up with your other novels which are equally just as good as this series is.



Wonderful series by Kate Forsyth


Wonderful series by Kate Forsyth - rereading and collecting

South Australia



4.8 4


Kate Forsyth

Kate Forsyth is the bestselling and award-winning author of more than twenty books, ranging from picture books to poetry to novels for both children and adults.

Her most recent book for adults is The Beast’s Garden, a retelling of Grimms’ Beauty and The Beast set in Nazi Germany. She has also written Bitter Greens, a retelling of the Rapunzel fairytale interwoven with the dramatic, true life story of the woman who first told the tale, the 17th century French writer, Charlotte-Rose de la Force. Her most recent book for children is The Starkin Crown, a heroic fantasy adventure set in the magical world of Estelliana, a place of wild magic and terrifying monsters.

Since The Witches of Eileanan was named a Best First Novel of 1998 by Locus Magazine, Kate has won or been nominated for numerous awards, including a CYBIL Award in the US. She's also the only author to win five Aurealis awards in a single year, for her Chain of Charms series – beginning with The Gypsy Crown - which tells of the adventures of two Romany children in the time of the English Civil War. Book 5 of the series, The Lightning Bolt, was also a CBCA Notable Book.

Kate's books have been published in 17 countries around the world, including the UK, the US, Russia, Germany, Japan, Turkey, Spain, Italy, Poland and Slovenia. She completed a doctorate in fairytale retellings at the University of Technology, as well as a BA in Literature and a MA in Creative Writing.

Kate is a direct descendant of Charlotte Waring, the author of the first book for children ever published in Australia, A Mother's Offering to her Children. She lives by the sea in Sydney, Australia, with her husband, three children, a rambunctious Rhodesian Ridgeback, a bad-tempered black cat, and many thousands of books.

Visit Kate Forsyth's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9780091835101
ISBN-10: 0091835100
Series: Witches of Eileanan Ser.
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 528
Published: 9th May 1997
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.3 x 11.1  x 4.2
Weight (kg): 0.32
Edition Number: 1