+612 9045 4394
Dove Descending : A Journey Into T.S. Eliot's Four Quartets - Thomas Howard

Dove Descending

A Journey Into T.S. Eliot's Four Quartets

Paperback Published: 31st March 2006
ISBN: 9781586170400
Number Of Pages: 148

Share This Book:


RRP $29.95
Ships in 10 to 15 business days

T.S. Eliot is widely considered the most important and most influential poet of the 20th century. Many consider Four Quartets to be the finest of his poems and his greatest achievement. In this masterful journey into the beauties and depths of Eliot's masterpiece, the bestselling author, professor and critic Thomas Howard unravels the complexities of the sublime poem with such adept adroitness that even its most difficult passages spring to life. During his long years as a professor teaching English and Literature, Howard taught this poem often, and developed what he calls "a reading" approach to the concepts of this masterpiee to render its meaning more lucid for the reader. Therefore, this is not a "scholarly" work, but rather the brilliant insights of a master teacher and writer whose understanding of this profound poem and his deep love for the writing of Eliot are shared here for the great benefit of the reader.

"In my own view, this sequence of four poems represents the pinnacle of Eiot's whole work. Four Quartets stands as Eliot's valedictory to the modern world. I would place it, along with Chartres Cathedral, the Divine Comedy, van Eyck's "Adoration of the Mystic Lamb" and Mozart's Requiem as a major edifice in the history of the Christian West."

ISBN: 9781586170400
ISBN-10: 1586170406
Series: Sapienta Classics
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 148
Published: 31st March 2006
Publisher: Ignatius Press
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.3 x 14.9  x 1.2
Weight (kg): 0.2