+612 9045 4394
Devil's Food : Corinna Chapman Series : Book 3 - Kerry Greenwood

Devil's Food

Corinna Chapman Series : Book 3


Published: January 2006
Ships: 5 to 9 business days
5 to 9 business days
RRP $22.95

eBook View Product

Published: 1st January 2006
Format: ePUB
RRP $14.98

Someone is poisoning people with weight loss herbal teas and then there are odd things happening at the Cafe Vlad Tepes (which attracts a very strange clientele indeed) . . . Another delicious recipe for murder, mayhem and mystery in the Corinna Chapman series.

If there's one thing that Corinna Chapman, baker extraordinaire and proprietor of the Earthly Delights Bakery, can't abide, it's people not eating well - particularly when there are delights like her very own, just-baked, freshly buttered sourdough bread to enjoy. So when a strange cult which denies the flesh and eats only famine bread turns up, along with a body which is found in a park, dead of malnutrition, Corinna is very disturbed indeed.

But she doesn't only have that to contend with: her hippie mother, Starshine, has turned up out of the blue, hysterical that Sunlight, Corinna's father, has absconded to Melbourne with all their money and a desire for a new young lover; someone is poisoning people with weight loss herbal teas; and then there are odd things happening at the nearby Cafe Vlad Tepes, which attracts a very strange clientele indeed. Altogether, it's a delicious recipe for murder, mayhem and mystery.

The third in the Corinna Chapman series, Devil's Food is another irresistible, criminally entertaining read from the master crime writer, Kerry Greenwood.

About the Author

Kerry Greenwood has written thirteen novels in the Phryne Fisher series, the most recent being The Castlemaine Murders (2003). She is also the author of The Childstone Cycle, Cassandra, Recipes for Crime (with Jenny Pausacker) and has edited The Things She Loves, a collection of essays about women who kill. Kerry has worked as a folk singer, factory hand, director, producer, translator, costumer-maker, cook and also works for Victoria Legal Aid as an advocate in the Magistrates' Courts. She is not married, has no children and lives with four cats and an accredited Wizard. In her spare time, she stares blankly out of the window. And she has no idea where she gets her ideas from.


I Love This Series


This series is better and better. I love Corina.



Earthly Delights is, generous and caring about her staff.


great reading and easy to follow plot curl up on the couch and enjoy

Brisbane Australia


Devil's Food

4.5 2


A missing father, a bizarre cult and two poisoned shop assistants keep a Melbourne baker on her toes in the latest from Greenwood (Heavenly Pleasures, 2008, etc.).Whenever pleasantly plump Corinna Chapman and her beautiful Israeli investigator lover, Daniel, find a new puzzle to solve, her eccentric, mostly cat-loving neighbors at Insula, her Romanesque apartment building, are ready to pitch in. As Corinna blissfully bakes bread along with her assistant Jason, a reformed drug addict who's become a magician of muffins, her peace is shattered when her estranged hippie mother, Starshine, turns up minus her husband Sunlight, whose midlife crisis has propelled him from their commune in search of a younger woman. Luckily, one of the Insula residents, an old school friend of Star, is willing to take her in while Corinna searches for her errant dad. When her two bone-thin assistants start acting strangely, her neighborhood shopkeeper, Meroe the witch, discovers that the girls have been poisoned by an herbal diet tea they've been knocking back. Meantime, Insula neighbors Jon and Kepler find herbs hidden inside their imports from India. All paths seem to lead to members of a fat-despising cult who've been special ordering one of Corinna's most unusual breads. Corinna and Daniel are in for some surprises as they work to solve the overlapping mysteries while a murderer lurks.Not in any sense a classic mystery. But like-minded readers will find themselves charmed by the oddball characters and obligatory recipes. (Kirkus Reviews)

Kerry Greenwood

Kerry has written twenty novels, a number of plays, including The Troubadours with Stephen D'Arcy, is an award-winning children's writer and has edited and contributed to several anthologies. In 1996 she published a book of essays on female murderers called Things She Loves: Why women Kill.

The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with Cocaine Blues which was a great success. Kerry has written sixteen books in this series and says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them.

When she is not writing she is an advocate in Magistrates' Court for the Legal Aid Commission. She is not married, has no children and lives with a registered Wizard.

Visit Kerry Greenwood's Booktopia Author Page

ISBN: 9781741147100
ISBN-10: 1741147107
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: January 2006
Publisher: Allen & Unwin
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.5 x 13.0  x 2.5
Weight (kg): 0.28
Edition Number: 1