Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Death of a Foreign Gentleman : The intriguing new literary crime novel from the Miles Franklin award-winning author for readers of Ian McEwan, Sebastian Barry and William Boyd - Steven Carroll

Death of a Foreign Gentleman

The intriguing new literary crime novel from the Miles Franklin award-winning author for readers of Ian McEwan, Sebastian Barry and William Boyd

By: Steven Carroll

Paperback | 3 April 2024

At a Glance

Paperback


RRP $32.99

$30.25

or 4 interest-free payments of $7.56 with

In Stock and Aims to ship next day
From award-winning writer Steven Carroll comes the first book in a series of post-war literary crime novels featuring Detective Sergeant Stephen Minter.

Cambridge, UK, 1947. Martin Friedrich, a German philosopher, is cycling through an intersection on his way to give a lecture when a speeding car strikes and kills him. Shortly afterwards, Detective Sergeant Stephen Minter, an Austrian-born cockney Jew, whose parents were interned during the war as enemy aliens, stands over the body of Friedrich, contemplating the age-old question – who did it?

Friedrich might be one of the finest minds of his age, but he's problematic: arrogant and a womaniser, he was also, in the 1930s, a member of the Nazi Party. As Stephen is soon to discover, there is no shortage of suspects. Friedrich was hated by almost everybody, even those who loved him. Is there any sense to his death or was it just a case of rotten, random luck? Has the universe spoken? Or are there more sinister factors at work?

From one of Australia's finest, most critically acclaimed writers, Death of a Foreign Gentleman is a playful, poignant and absorbing literary crime novel, with shades of The Third Man and Brighton Rock, which examines the question of how to live a meaningful life in an indifferent, random, post-God world.

About the Author

Steven Carroll is the multi-award winning author of fifteen novels including A World of Other People (2013), which was the joint winner of the Prime Minister's Literary Award, and The Time We Have Taken (2007), which was the winner of the Commonwealth Writers Prize for the SE Asia and Pacific Region and the Miles Franklin Award in 2008. Forever Young (2015) was shortlisted for the Victorian Premier's Literary Award and the Prime Minister's Literary Award in 2016. A New England Affair (2017) was shortlisted for the Victorian Premier's Literary Award in 2018 and The Year of the Beast (2019) was longlisted for the 2020 Voss Literary Prize. His most recent novel, Goodnight, Vivienne, Goodnight was longlisted for the 2022 ARA Historical Novel Prize and for the 2023 Voss Literary Prize.

Steven lives in Melbourne with his partner, the author Fiona Capp, and their son.

More in Historical Crime & Mysteries

Deception Bay : Book No.2 - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
The Vanishing Point - Andrea Hotere

RRP $34.99

$31.75

The Brisbane Line - JP Powell

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
The Lost Treasure of the Templars : The Hounds of God - James Becker

FREE SHIPPING

Ashes in the Snow - Oriana Ramunno

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Fiction Writer - Jillian Cantor

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Dark Side of the Harbour - Jennifer Bacia

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $29.99

$23.95

20%
OFF
Dr Jekyll & Mr Seek - Anthony O'Neill

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $24.99

$19.95

20%
OFF
The Nightingale Gallery : The Brother Athelstan Mysteries - Paul Doherty
By Murder's Bright Light : The Brother Athelstan Mysteries - Paul Doherty
The Milliner of Bendigo - Darry Fraser

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Devil's Domain : The Brother Athelstan Mysteries - Paul Doherty
The Brightest Star - Emma Harcourt

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The House of Crows : The Brother Athelstan Mysteries - Paul Doherty
Betrayal - Lesley Pearse

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

A Grave for a Thief : A Company of Rogues - Douglas Skelton
The Woman Who Knew Too Little - Olivia Wearne

RRP $32.99

$30.25