+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Dead Right : Inspector Banks : Book 9 - Peter Robinson

Dead Right

Inspector Banks : Book 9

Paperback

Published: 1st February 2014
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $19.99
$16.90
15%
OFF

eBook View Product

Published: 2nd November 2001
Format: ePUB
$9.99

The broken body of Jason Fox has been found in a dirty alleyway. At first it looks like a typical after-hours pub fight gone wrong. But Inspector Alan Banks soon realizes that the truth is rarely so straightforward . . . Jason was a member of the Albion League, a white power organization. And there are many people who might have wished him dead: the Pakistani youths he had insulted in the pub that evening; the shady friends of his business partner; or someone within the Albion League itself. And just as Banks begins to get a grip on the case, an unexpected discovery forces him to reconsider everything he believes . . .

About the Author

Peter Robinson grew up in Yorkshire and now lives in Canada. His Inspector Banks series has won numerous awards in Britain, Europe, the United States and Canada. There are now fifteen novels published by Pan Macmillan in the series. Aftermath, the twelfth, was a Sunday Times bestseller.

It would be easy to become addicted to Robinson Observer Every page here is readable and compelling Washington Times Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell who crave more contemporary themes should look no further than Peter Robinson Washington Post

Peter Robinson

Peter Robinson, who emigrated to Canada in 1974, is best known for his novels featuring Detective Chief Inspector Alan Banks of the Eastvale Criminal Investigation Department, Yorkshire, England. In addition, Robinson has published several non-series novels, among them the psychological thriller Caedmon's Song and a police procedural set primarily in Los Angeles, No Cure for Love. In each case, Robinson combines what might be called "psychological realism," or a focus on character and motivation, with thoughtful cultural commentary, particularly with respect to post-Thatcher England and its susceptibility to the values, tastes, and practices of urban America.

Robinson's Inspector Banks series is built around the character of Alan Banks and the quiet, methodical, and ruminative way in which he sets about solving crimes in the Yorkshire Dales with the assistance of his investigative team. Banks is relatively new to the Dales, having recently transferred from London in search of (ironically, given the number of murders that fall his way) a quieter professional life. He is married to an independent woman he genuinely enjoys and who challenges rather than acquiesces to him. A consummate family man, Banks runs miniature trains for relaxation, relishes his Sunday beef with Yorkshire pudding, and mourns his children's adolescent trajectory away from hearth and home. He enjoys a good working partnership with his superior, Detective Superintendent Gristhorpe, a gritty Yorkshireman who struggles to replicate the ancient technology of dry stone wall-building on his Dales farm. In employing cool logic, honed instinct, and sheer doggedness in pursuing his inquiries, and in avoiding violence for the most part, Inspector Banks is very much the classic police investigator—which is not surprising, given Robinson's acknowledgment of writers like Simenon, Maigret, and Christie as early influences upon his work.

Visit Peter Robinson's Booktopia Author Page


ISBN: 9781447225508
ISBN-10: 1447225503
Series: The Inspector Banks Series
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 1st February 2014
Publisher: Pan Macmillan
Country of Publication: AU
Dimensions (cm): 19.8 x 13.0  x 2.3
Weight (kg): 0.3
Edition Type: New edition