+612 9045 4394
David Hurwitz : Symphonies and Concertos - an Owner's Manual - David Hurwitz

David Hurwitz

Symphonies and Concertos - an Owner's Manual

Paperback Published: 1st May 2006
ISBN: 9781574671315
Number Of Pages: 192

Share This Book:


RRP $44.99
Ships in 15 business days

(Unlocking the Masters). The fall of the Soviet empire has not diminished the popularity of Dmitri Shostakovich's great symphonies and concertos one bit, despite the fact that most literature on him neglects any substantive discussion of the music itself in favor of biographical speculation on the relationship between the composer and the political climate of the day. This is the first book to provide a detailed, descriptive analysis of the 21 symphonies and concertos, work by work, explaining not just why they are significant documents of their time and place, but why they are great music in general. This offers readers an understanding of why Shostakovich's music enjoys the enduring support of performers and listeners alike, and how it fits into the great tradition of Western classical music generally.

ISBN: 9781574671315
ISBN-10: 1574671316
Series: Unlocking the Masters
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 192
Published: 1st May 2006
Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 22.81 x 16.41  x 1.45
Weight (kg): 0.4