+612 9045 4394
David Attenborough's First Life : A Journey Back in Time with Matt Kaplan - David Attenborough

David Attenborough's First Life

A Journey Back in Time with Matt Kaplan

By: Matt Kaplan, David Attenborough (Introduction by)

Sorry, the book that you are looking for is not available right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

eBook View Product

Published: 29th November 2010
Format: ePUB

Spanning billions of years, Attenborough's time-travelling narrative brings the reader face to face with the first animals that ever existed. By using the latest technology, we are finally able to see for ourselves how these early animals would have looked like and how they would have lived. Attenborough also shows us how some of the evolutionary features of these most primitive creatures are alive today in modern animals, including us humans.

Attenborough shows us how the evolution of the first eyes, the first solid body parts and the first feet and backbones came to be. Looking at global ice ages and volcanic eruptions he also shows how evolution is heavily connected with the history of the planet.

In this ground breaking investigation, Attenborough travels the world, from Canada to Australia and Morocco to unearth the secrets hidden in prehistoric fossils, providing a deeper understanding of the first living creatures and the origins of our evolutionary traits.

About The Author

Sir David Attenborough is Britain's best-known natural history film-maker. His career as a naturalist and broadcaster has spanned nearly five decades and there are very few places on the globe that he has not visited. Over the last 25 years he has established himself as the world's leading natural history programme maker with several landmark BBC series, including: Life on Earth (1979), The Living Planet (1984), The Trials of Life (1990), The Private Life of Plants (1995), The Life of Birds (1998), The Life of Mammals (2002) and Life in the Undergrowth (2005).

On Sir David Attenborough: 'Brilliant' Guardian 'A worthy inheritor of Alistair Cooke' Telegraph 'The nation's favourite wildlife broadcaster' The Times

Chapter 1: Something From Nothing
Chapter 2: Fight For Survival
Chapter 3: Snowball Earth
Chapter 4: The Dawn Of Animals
Chapter 5: Frond Life
Chapter 6: To Build A Worm
Chapter 7: Explosion
Chapter 8: Hunter And Hunted
Chapter 9: Arms Race: Evolution And Escalation
Chapter 10: Landfall: The Worm That Walks
Chapter 11: Taking Wing: End To An Era

ISBN: 9780007365241
ISBN-10: 0007365241
Audience: Professional
Format: Hardcover
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 288
Published: 14th October 2010
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 28.8 x 23.3  x 3.4
Weight (kg): 1.525