Booktopia has been placed into Voluntary Administration. Orders have been temporarily suspended, whilst the process for the recapitalisation of Booktopia and/or sale of its business is completed, following which services may be re-established. All enquiries from creditors, including customers with outstanding gift cards and orders and placed prior to 3 July 2024, please visit https://www.mcgrathnicol.com/creditors/booktopia-group/
Add free shipping to your order with these great books
Daughter of the Hunter Valley - Paula J. Beavan

Daughter of the Hunter Valley

By: Paula J. Beavan

Paperback | 29 September 2021

Sorry, we are not able to source the book you are looking for right now.

We did a search for other books with a similar title, however there were no matches. You can try selecting from a similar category, click on the author's name, or use the search box above to find your book.

Alone. Near destitute. But brave and determined. Can Maddy beat the odds to create a new home in the Hunter Valley? An exciting Australian historical debut, perfect for readers of Darry Fraser.

1831, New South Wales

Reeling from her mother's death, Madeleine Barker-Trent arrives in the newly colonised Hunter River to find her father's promises are nothing more than a halcyon dream. A day later, after a dubious accident, she becomes the sole owner of a thousand acres of bushland, with only three convicts and handsome overseer Daniel Coulter for company.

Determined to fulfil her family's aspirations, Maddy refuses to return to England and braves everything the beautiful but wild Australian country can throw at her - violence, danger, the forces of nature and loneliness. But when a scandalous secret and a new arrival threaten to destroy all she's worked for, her future looks bleak ... Can Maddy persevere or should she simply admit defeat?

A captivating historical tale of one young woman's grit and determination to carve out her place on the riverbank.

About the Author

An avid reader from childhood, Paula J Beavan grew up on a small property in the Hunter Valley, riding horses, mustering cattle and listening to the tales of local farriers, cattlemen and farmers. Her love of the land and its history together with a curiosity about the challenges faced by the pioneering women of the region led her to seek out stories of the area's early European settlers. Serendipitously, she discovered a family connection to William Harpur, local landowner and one of Australia's early surveyors.

Inspired by this connection, she delved deeper to discover when William Harpur lost his sight, his wife Catherine managed their Hunter River property - a perfect illustration of the women she writes about.
Industry Reviews
'Richly detailed, inspiring and romantic - this engrossing story of a brave young woman overcoming insurmountable odds brings to life the early years of the Hunter Valley with clarity and authenticity.'
Tea Cooper author of The Cartographer's Secret

More in Historical Romance Fiction

Atlas: The Story of Pa Salt : The Seven Sisters: Book 8 - Harry Whittaker
Until August : The Lost Novel - Gabriel Garcia Márquez

RRP $35.00

$31.75

The Sea Captain's Wife - Jackie French

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Hidden Storyteller : A Novel - Mandy Robotham

RRP $32.99

$30.25

At The Foot Of The Cherry Tree - Alli Parker

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Maya's Dance - Helen Signy

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Beauties - Lauren Chater

Paperback

RRP $32.99

$30.25

The Rat Catcher : a love story - Kim Kelly

FREE SHIPPING

RRP $26.99

$21.75

19%
OFF
Birds of a Feather : Would you open your heart to fate? - Rhianna King
At the Going Down of the Sun - Mary-Anne O'Connor

RRP $34.99

$31.75

Jewel Sea - Kim Kelly

FREE SHIPPING

Paperback

RRP $24.99

$19.95

20%
OFF
The Phoenix Crown - Kate Quinn

RRP $32.99

$30.25

Lies We Sing to the Sea - Sarah Underwood

RRP $19.99

$18.95

Once a Laird : An exciting Scottish historical Regency romance - Mary Jo Putney