+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Dark Star : Dark Star - Bethany Frenette

Paperback Published: 3rd September 2013
ISBN: 9781423148531
Number Of Pages: 356
For Ages: 12 - 14 years old

Share This Book:

Paperback

RRP $19.99
$5.80
71%
OFF
In Stock
Enter an Australian post code for delivery estimate

Earn 12 Qantas Points
on this Book

Audrey Whitticomb has nothing to fear.

When your mother is the most powerful superhero in the Twin Cities, it’s hard not to feel safe. But when Audrey is lured into the night air by something most definitely not human, the time for feeling safe is over.

Now Audrey knows the truth: her mom doesn’t just stop criminals. She fights Harrowers - merciless beings who were trapped Beneath eons ago. Some have managed to claw their way into our world, and they want Audrey dead because of who she is: one of the Kin.

There is some good news, though. Audrey has powers of her own. Being able to read someone else’s mind and glimpse the future can be very useful. If she’s able to get close enough to Patrick Tigue, a powerful Harrower masquerading as human, she could use her Knowing to figure out his next move. But it won’t be easy, not if Leon, her mother’s bossy, infuriatingly attractive sidekick has anything to do with it. Lately, he hasn’t let Audrey out of his sight.

When an unthinkable betrayal puts Minneapolis in terrible danger, Audrey discovers a wild, untamed power within herself. It may be the key to saving herself, her family, and her city. Or it may be the force that destroys everything - and everyone - she loves.

About the Author

Bethany Frenette is the author of Dark Star. Born and raised in Minnesota, she received her undergraduate degree from St. Cloud State University and her MFA in Creative Writing from Hamline University. She lives in Minneapolis, where she hopes to one day awake with superpowers.

Industry Reviews

"Frenette's debut novel pairs paranormal elements with strong female characters to put a delightfully refreshing spin on the conventional superhero saga. Audrey is smart, funny, and self-sufficient, although her impulsiveness tends to get her into trouble, and even secondary characters come to life. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Karsten Knight will devour this action-packed book." - Alissa J. Bach, School Library Journal

"Frenette’s thoughtful character building convincingly sells a myth-heavy story, and yet there’s still time for a slow-building romance between Audrey and Leon. Though in some places the narrative plods, and tertiary characters tend to detract from the action, there’s plenty for readers to enjoy here." - Courtney Jones, Booklist

"With charming, authentic characterisations and stellar world-building, Frenette offers a marvelous debut, giving readers a taut, swoony, downright fun story that will have them reconsidering their notions of superheroes." - Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

"The mix of supernatural and superhero reminded me of Hellboy and Buffy the Vampire Slayer... a good choice for readers looking for adventure." - Library Media Connection

ISBN: 9781423148531
ISBN-10: 1423148533
Series: Dark Star
Audience: Teenager / Young Adult
For Ages: 12 - 14 years old
For Grades: 7 - 9
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 356
Published: 3rd September 2013
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Country of Publication: US
Dimensions (cm): 20.96 x 13.97  x 1.91
Weight (kg): 0.45

Earn 12 Qantas Points
on this Book