+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
$7.95 Delivery per order to Australia and New Zealand
100% Australian owned
Over a hundred thousand in-stock titles ready to ship
Dandy Gilver & a Spot of Toil and Trouble : Dandy Gilver - Catriona McPherson

Dandy Gilver & a Spot of Toil and Trouble

Dandy Gilver

Paperback Published: 13th February 2018
ISBN: 9781473633469
Number Of Pages: 400

Other Formats

Share This Book:

Paperback

Ships in 7 to 10 business days

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

A delightful Dandy Gilver mystery by Catriona McPherson, set in 1930s Scotland. For fans of PG Wodehouse, Dorothy L Sayers and Agatha Christie.

Scotland, 1934.

Aristocratic private detective Dandy Gilver arrives at Castle Bewer, at midsummer, to solve the tangled mystery of a missing man, a lost ruby and a family curse.

The Bewer family's latest wheeze to keep the wolf from the door is turning the castle keep into a theatre. While a motley band of players rehearse Macbeth, the Bewers themselves prepare lectures, their faithful servants set up a tearoom, and the guest wings fill with rich American ladies seeking.

Meanwhile, Dandy and her sidekick Alec Osborne begin to unravel the many secrets of the Bewers and find that, despite the witches, murders and ghosts onstage, it's behind the scenes where the darkest deeds are done.

About the Author

Catriona McPherson was born in the village of Queensferry in south-east Scotland in 1965 and educated at Edinburgh University. She left with a PhD in Linguistics and spent a few years as a university lecturer before beginning to write fiction. The first Dandy Gilver novel was short-listed for the CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger 2005 and the second was long-listed for the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year Award 2007. In 2012 Dandy Gilver and the Proper Treatment of Bloodstains was nominated for a Historical Macavity Award. Catriona writes full-time and divides her time between southern Scotland and northern California.

Industry Reviews

'The perfect read for those who enjoy the bygoneworld charm of Nancy Mitford, Evelyn Waugh and Agatha Christie.' - The Lady on DANDY GILVER AND A MOST MISLEADING HABIT

Catriona McPherson is a writer as talented as she is versatile. Dandy Gilver tackles a Golden Age era puzzle with her usual aplomb when the Scottish play offers a Shakespearean twist to a mystery with plenty of classic ingredients. - Martin Edwards

A delightfully uplifting mystery with a distinctly P.G. Wodehouse-ian feel. Navigating ancient castles, and family feuds, Dandy Gilver must also contend with a ribald staging of Shakespeare's Macbeth. I loved the sense of fun, the wonderful use of language . . . satisfying on many levels. - Vaseem Khan, author of the Unexpected Inheritance of Inspector Chopra

ISBN: 9781473633469
ISBN-10: 147363346X
Series: Dandy Gilver
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 13th February 2018
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 20.1 x 12.0  x 2.0
Weight (kg): 0.23
Edition Number: 1

Earn 38 Qantas Points
on this Book

This product is categorised by