+612 9045 4394
 
CHECKOUT
Corpselight : Verity Fassbinder : Book 2 - Angela Slatter

Corpselight

Verity Fassbinder : Book 2

Paperback

Published: 11th July 2017
In Stock. Ships in 1-2 business days from Australia
RRP $32.99
$25.50
23%
OFF
if ordered within

eBook View Product

Published: 13th July 2017
Format: ePUB
$16.99

'Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves' - Jack Dann, award-winning author.

Sequel to VIGIL, this fast-paced urban fantasy is perfect for fans of Harry Dresden and Kinsey Millhone.

Life in Brisbane is never simple for those who walk between the worlds.

Verity's all about protecting her city, but right now that's mostly running surveillance and handling the less exciting cases for the Weyrd Council - after all, it's hard to chase the bad guys through the streets of Brisbane when you're really, really pregnant.

An insurance investigation sounds pretty harmless, even if it is for 'Unusual Happenstance'. That's not usually a clause Normals use - it covers all-purpose hauntings, angry genii loci, ectoplasmic home invasion, demonic possession, that sort of thing - but Susan Beckett's claimed three times in three months. Her house keeps getting inundated with mud, but she's still insisting she doesn't need or want help . . . until the dry-land drownings begin.

V's first lead in takes her to Chinatown, where she is confronted by kitsune assassins. But when she suddenly goes into labour, it's clear the fox spirits are not going to be helpful.

CORPSELIGHT is the sequel to VIGIL and the second book in the Verity Fassbinder series by award-winning author Angela Slatter.

Angela Slatter is an Australian author who spins beautiful yarns in a musical, fascinating narrative style * SFsite * One of the most important voices in fantasy * SF Signal on Angela Slatter * Angela Slatter [is one] of the most daring and exquisitely polished writers on today's' speculative fiction scene' * Karen Miller, author of the Kingmaker, Kingbreaker series on Angela Slatter * Rich and heady as honey mead, potent and earthy as great Scotch, the sublimely dark tales of Angela Slatter are an addictive delight * Neil Snowden * Like Aickman, her sense of the fantastic serves to show us the weird world we hold within our own psyches . . . Slatter's prose is often magnificent, and she's able to craft characters as great as the powers they wield * Rick Kleffel, American Public Radio Books on Angela Slatter * Verity Fassbinder comes on like a high-octane mix of Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden and Sue Grafton's Kinsey Milhone - dry, smart, funny, fuelled by a need to protect the weak, and driven by a past that haunts her. Verity's BrisVegas is a far cry from the streets of Brisbane you'll see in tourist brochures, a dark supernatural playground where anything can happen and where the strangest of us can find safe haven. If you loved True Blood, or if you've ever loved a great PI series, then Vigil is for you. Smart, funny, and engaging. I can't wait for the sequel! * Jonathan Strahan, editor of The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year series * Simply put: Slatter can write! Beautifully, stylishly, accurately. She conjures ghosts and spirits and forces us to recognise the monsters that are ourselves . . . she conjures the secret and private worlds hidden just inside the curtains of reality, and she does it with sentences as sparse and sharp-edged as unused razor blades. She's my pick: a writer who will constantly surprise; and just when you think she's at the top of her game, she will go on to become impossibly better. Read this writer. She'll drop the scales right out of your eyes! * Jack Dann, award-winning author of The Memory Cathedral * The world of the Weyrd collides with modern-day Brisbane, bringing chaos in its wake. A brilliant new urban fantasy with elements of murder, mystery and magic - I'm already looking forward to the next Verity Fassbinder adventure * Alison Littlewood, author of A Cold Season * Half-Weyrd troubleshooter Verity Fassbinder is back: funny, capable, super-strong ... and this time heavily pregnant . . . Angela Slatter's writing is as deft and witty as ever. With its delicious blend of the mundane and the totally weird, CORPSELIGHT will make you laugh, shudder and keep turning pages until the very end. * Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the BLACKTHORN & GRIM series * Edgy, hilarious and full of heart - Verity is back and as brilliant as ever!' * Alison Goodman, award-winning author of Lady Helen and the Dark Days Club * Slatter's work is excellent, and eminently readable . . . It's easy to see how she's managed to make such an impact on the genre * British Fantasy Society * The Fassbinder fun continues. The only-half-Normal Brisbane sleuth has fox-spirits, ninja librarians and much, much worse to deal with now, even as motherhood gives her a makeover. Slatter's dark imaginings, spritzed with humour, pack age-old magic into a contemporary setting with a sure hand. This woman knows her stuff. * Margo Lanagan, author of Tender Morsels * Straight up 5* no messing. Brilliant. Read the entire thing in a huge gulp. SO addictive, beautifully done, Vigil was great but this was greater. Erm . . . better? Whatever. Superb. Witty, dark, increasingly fascinating characters and a GORGEOUS set up ending to make you desperate for the next one. -- Liz Barnsley * Liz Loves Books/GoodReads * Angela Slatter's ink is full of intimate magic and hard wisdom. Her characters live and breathe and glance out at you from the page to question your motives. One of the best dark fantasy writers working today * Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of ARARAT and SNOWBLIND * Slatter is a master world-builder * beyondfiction.com *

ISBN: 9781784294342
ISBN-10: 1784294349
Series: Verity Fassbinder
Audience: General
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 400
Published: 11th July 2017
Publisher: Quercus Publishing Plc
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 23.7 x 17.0  x 2.8
Weight (kg): 0.52
Edition Number: 1