+612 9045 4394
Cormac McCarthy and the Myth of American Exceptionalism : Studies in Major Literary Authors - John Cant

Cormac McCarthy and the Myth of American Exceptionalism

Studies in Major Literary Authors

By: John Cant


Published: 1st October 2009
Ships: 15 business days
15 business days
RRP $77.99
if ordered within

This overview of McCarthy's published work to date, including: the short stories he published as a student, his novels, stage play and TV film script, locates him as a icocolastic writer, engaged in deconstructing America's vision of itself as a nation with an exceptionalist role in the world.

Introductory chapters outline his personal background and the influences on his early years in Tennessee whilst each of his works is dealt with in a separate chapter listed in chronological order of publication.

Acknowledgments; Part I; Chapter One: Introduction; Chapter Two: Personal and Literary Biography; Chapter Three: Tennessee Background; Part II: The Tennessee Texts; Chapter Four: Wake For Susan and A Drowning Incident; Chapter Five: The Orchard Keeper; Chapter Six: Outer Dark; Chapter Seven: Child of God; Chapter Eight: Suttree; Chapter Nine: The Stonemason; Chapter Ten: The Gardener's Son; Part III: The Southwestern Texts; Chapter Eleven: Blood Meridian; The Border Trilogy: Chapter Twelve: All the Pretty Horses; Chapter Thirteen: The Crossing; Chapter Fourteen: Cities of the Plain; Chapter Fifteen: No Country for Old Men; Chapter Sixteen: Conclusion; Appendix One: The Sunset Limited; Appendix Two: The Road; Appendix Three: Supplementary Bibliography; Notes; Bibliography; Index

ISBN: 9780415875677
ISBN-10: 0415875676
Series: Studies in Major Literary Authors
Audience: Tertiary; University or College
Format: Paperback
Language: English
Number Of Pages: 372
Published: 1st October 2009
Country of Publication: GB
Dimensions (cm): 22.86 x 15.24  x 2.01
Weight (kg): 0.51